We all know that the month of October is an awareness of three concerns: Breast Cancer, Domestic Violence and Bully Awareness. Everytime we flip the calendar to the 10th month of Halloween we tend to remind ourselves that the issues and concerns of these items are still out there to be informed and also summarized. We get it. Hopefully. But in the recent acts of Sexual Assault discovered by Harvey Weinstein and many others whom did the act, many women are speaking out on the issue that many know very well. As they should. And even a black woman, Tarana Burke whom was a victim of Sexual Assault years ago formed the slogan “Me Too” 10 years ago is now continuing her message of the concerns and lessons she endured. And by the way for you Caucasian hashtaggers , you must know that the Me Too thing actually started by Tarana Burke, a black woman so don’t assumed you “just now” invented it.

Now I’m going to talk about a male’s point of view of being assaulted sexually and bullied. About three years ago, I attended my church’s Love Is event in the subject that dealth with domestic violence in relationships. One of the panelist was by the name of , from the Alma Center in Milwaukee. He was at the time gave a discussion about Domestic Violence from a Man’s Point of View. He talked about the subject called the Manbox. It was about in purpose about in certain times Men don’t get all emotional like women. Like crying. Or instead having you not cry to make sure you’re not weak. Or you have to hit women just because….When I was in the 9th grade at John Marshall High School, apparently I was in a school fight with another freshman at the time. The year was 1991 and it was in December, a week after my 15th birthday hard to believe. We were suspended for about two days since certain words were on repeat. When we were reinstated, a conversation was instilled about being ribbed on shouldn’t lead to fights. Even though that was so-called neutral, but I remember when my mother said that I was at a point where I was provoked. To the then VP of the school. So yes, I was provoked. And folks had to trip about who won the fight. So Ive been more defensive minded since my teen years which expands to this day! It seems that all this goes back to upbringings. Broken homes. The father was not at home or mother was always tripping. Or lack of self-esteem. Or when the pranks or the class clown thing will get his or hers a beat down after all the crap. Most of my MPS years I dealt with bullies. Even those on a sexual assault level that had almost gropped me back in Middle School! And the dude was “messing around.” Plus a female did that almost in the 9th grade as I was walking to class. And I’m like, no she didn’t! It seems like fun and games but it’s a freaking crime! This is not a joke. None. And for you females think it’s a joke and funny that a dude like me went through that, sorry it’s not funny. It’s not.

Why am I telling you this? Many must be like: really?! And what does all of this have to do with bulling and sexual assault? It kind of hit me: When you bully someone, it’s like sexual assault. You’re bullying someone that doesn’t want to be toyed with. Nor ribbed on. If you want that, you’re asking for trouble! Serious trouble. And you best believe that many who have been in that position, will speak out, blog it, or whatever in getting that message that it’s not cool!

If you are in high school or middle school (and I know you’ve been reading my blogs) and had this done to you, get a grown up to talk to. With all this going on with the Cyber bulling on Social Media, and the Sexting on smartphones and those that you can’t stand in a negative fashion in person, it’s time to not talk about it but also defend yourself! It’s time. Stop letting these fools and stupid dumb girls who bully you or sexually assault you to get away with murder! Men, we too have to stand up and declare that this is DEAD WRONG! Many of us Men probably had been gropped, or bullied or both at a time long ago, and many of us didn’t have answers. Now many of us whom have kids, or around kids we best believe that we have to do the protection thing more serious now.

And I should point out that there are “grown bullies” we have to deal with. Like Donald Trump. Yes I’m putting him in this. They are also called haters, racists, sextists, pacifists, all that and very evil. We have to put up with them everyday at work, church, the mall, the club, college rooms, and many other places of establishment. Even when you are looking for a job. And I know because I remember what I went through with the reaction of The Milwaukee Urban League did with me was very bully like from Betty Speed. She was indeed a bully attacking me for my content of my character and education in getting my degree from UW-Stout. Oh heck yes. So many times in Milwaukee I had to DEFEND my education from UW-Stout in a way that I have to tell the truth of what I was doing and having a balance. Manpower, Spherion, and other folks and goons both black and white all hating on a black man like me getting a college degree, by using Distance Education! Talk about being bullied.

And then when I had to go to Alumni functions for UW-Stout in Milwaukee,I felt that I need to “apologize” for not coming to the campus during my 4 years. But wait a minute: Something told me to say this. “Stephen, stop apologizing! Stop it right now. Yes you could have gone on Stout’s campus and completed your degree, but YOU opted to complete it by using Distance Education and getting it done in Milwaukee! You did it your way. Not their way!” End of story.

I know that the previous part had nothing to do with bulling or sexual assault. But partially it does matter in a sense that it will not hinder me to not fall for the “Okie Doke” that might spell Doom for me. They didn’t knew “jack squat” of my objective and goals. None. And that is so sad even in today’s era. Just like bullying.

Yep: Bullies suck! Just like those doing sexual assulting they will get caught and learn! Game over.

Leave a Reply

