A slight update so far.

Posted: March 13, 2017 in African American Stories and Viewpoints, BREAKING NEWS!, Life, Local

2 weeks ago, as many already know that my father passed unexpectedly. And it was a shock to my family. As I reflected and reviewed with solace and bereavement, there were times I had a wave of emotions of Dad being there. In his Entertainment Room not moving. Even sentences of Frederick Douglass like “without struggle we cannot progress”. Every time I think about those words especially when those I know pass on, it is a struggle. That is what I felt all this time. Plus the word of empowerment popped up in mind even more. 
I want to say to everyone on behalf of my sister and my mother: thank you. Thank you all for the acknowledgements, sympathies, inspirational messages of faith, prayers, cards, texts, and support in this hour of need.
Last year, I was reminded of my Dad said about leaving a mark. In his words, “I want to leave a mark.” By the looks of what I saw of the folks that came out for the funeral, for every mark left, even the committal service, that I think was Dad’s doing. No question about it. I know that August 18th will not be the same. That would have been his #70 coming up. December 20th won’t be the same. That is the anniversary of my parents marriage. And at Christmas Time, I give them both Christmas and Anniversary cards at the same time. That was fun. 
In between I will never forget the memories nor the lessons learned. And to those that reached out, I’ll reach back. I know that this will take time, but with the support of you, it will make me to have hope to move forward. 
Yes, my father had a good run. Make that a great run. 69 years strong. I am indeed a Veteran’s Son. 🇺🇸✊
Thank you, folks

Leave a Reply

