Man, tell me this is not happening. Seriously this is not happening. I thought I was dreaming about another black man got killed but this is no dream. It’s was real. Another black male, Philando Castile out of Minnesota was gunned down in a traffic stop while in the car with his fiancée and daughter. And he was only 32 years old, worked with kids, no criminal record and, a Teamster member and tell me folks, why did he had to die? All because of a traffic stop. And trying to get his ID. All recorded on Facebook Live. Just a day or two ago, Alston Sterling out of Baton Rouge was gunned down and his death after the Fourth of July really sparked a wide reaction of horror that this man of 37 years old father is not coming back. Some say he had a gun. And if anyone had the chance to look at the hellish video of him being gunned down, I’ll bet you or others whom are African-American, were just as disgusted and horrified as everyone whom was feeling.

Today on Social Media, mostly on Facebook, it was a wave of sadness, anger, some wanted to know when are we going to start shooting back.No kidding. No matter what you call it, it was all the same thing. Most of us were black. And the feeling of this was a repeated broken record that was on played over and over again. Even I had to dive in on this being as this day of being horrified. In my commentary, this is what I written this morning about these killings:

Just my own commentary here: I like everyone else is really horrified about the recent events that took place in Louisiana (which I visited in 2001) and also in Minnesota(which I have visited in ’95) with the shootings. Both Alton Sterling and Philando Castile should not have died like that at all. PERIOD! This whole thing I’ll agree is a sickening effect that continues to plague us even today. In the 90’s, when most of us were teens in high school, the phrase “endangered species” came up concerning young black males. Now, in this era of Smartphones and stuff, that phrase came back like a boomerang. Straight up. I know many had gone in on the 4th, in terms of being targeted after celebrating the Independence (flags, decorating the Red White and Blue in all). Guess what: (and I’m surprised that others haven’t commented this) other holidays, occasions, birthdays, the first day of school, the last day of school, the midterm break from college, a block party event, anniversaries, reunions, even personal days can be celebrated, but also can have problems like this! It doesn’t matter if it’s New Years, Christmas, Labor Day, Halloween, Black Friday, and even after observing Juneteenth Day. I’m just saying! Every year, I say the words: The Struggle Continues after the 4th, and even after my December 5th Birthday. And in between. So yes, indeed the struggle continues. Even after two black men whom were doing their thing before their untimely deaths shouldn’t have been vanquished at all.

Again: The Struggle Continues!

 

Yes. That is my written take on these shootings. As I said in my last blog about this, and this again is for those who still have this disdain about the Fourth of July or Fourth of YOU LIE things: You do realize, and I don’t care if you are in Black Radio, you do realize that folks can be killed in any part of the calendar year, right? Why the Fourth of July? Many had to hard on that. What many don’t realize that anytime you might get this, bullets have no eyes, no holidays, no race, and definitely no anything. The deaths of these two black men whom passed on this week after the 4th, after the 240th Anniversary in all, is a constant reminder that our work is not done! Our work AGAIN is not DONE! America as 240 years young it is, must continue to accept the past of wrong doings to be a better nation with all Ameicans alike. Even the ones we don’t like. However with this act of violence, and the act of these Black Fathers are not here, again, we got to work harder on this. And if their names made the list of no convictions, I will NOT be suprised. This will be another example of the Struggle is continuing on now. There are 5 months left in the year of 2016. Next couple of months will be hard for these familes as they go through that phase of daddy is not coming home. The empty chair or space will be hard to look at though holidays, birthdays, and also not watching their kids growing up. I feel for the kids, that will have to experience of not growing up without a father. Already one of a well known actress Issa Rae according the wires, has raised money for Alton Sterlings’ kids in terms of scholarship money. And just to think that Issa is an Introvert.

Also on Facebook: A local cop of 2o years had to comment on today’s occurance that went so viral and this was a DEEP DEEP MESSAGE:

 

What you just heard is Officer Nakia Jones. An officer of 20 YEARS SINCE 1996 that had gone hell, fire and brimstone and was VERY passionate about this message. If you know those officers that had a open partnership that are doing the righth things and are very serious and are supportive of the officers that do have this mentality, this to me is one of those officers in America that is doing the job thus far. Yes we do get concerned about BAD Cops, and racist cops. But one of my relatives whom is a Milwaukee Officer said that not all cops are bad and not all black men are bad! This to me realize that there is some good in everything. As we should. There are good employees, bad employees and employees that are just there. However, there are employees that will listen and take up the class of responsibility to ENSURE that trust does STAYS OPEN!

Officer Jones wanted to quit like she indicated, but she stayed. And I hope and pray that Officers like her and men like her will continue to stay on the force for the right reasons and to ensure a clear path of understanding and openess in the communities.Hopefully this might open a new dialouge that we the community can call out the concerns that we need to do at all times!

This is so crazy. And yes this happened in the week of the 4th of July. And many of us on the African-American Tip have this mixed bag about the 4th. This morning as I was listening to WNOV, which I still do. There was a talk about the flag. In referecing in which about getting black folks to wear the flag. There was statement on the format (The Fourm) of giving a reason why blacks should wear the Stars and Stripes. Well here’s my reason and I think I could probably give a reason for this. Again if you are a WNOV Listener and black, and have a opinion on this, which I respect. I’ll give you my reason why I feel that rocking the stars and stripes is partially not a bad thing.

One of the real reasons why I wear the “Stars and Stripes” or to display the Stars and Stripes, is not just to show off. Its not to gracefully forcefuly to shut up the haters or to sell out. One of the real reasons why I do it, because its in the heart.Its in the heart of interest that I think would be comfortable. What do I mean by that, you ask? Maybe it’s my personality, maybe it’s my way of showing my own patriotism. Maybe it’s my way of showing active in community service. One of the community service that I do is an Election Inspector. And it’s a job that I volunteer for that has given me 10 years to serve. Another reason is probably my way of expression. Another could be my way of being active. Another reason that I continue to serve needs. It has nothing to do with being weak. Maybe that’s the reasons why I still probably have it on me since. Maybe I’m “not as American” as I think like everyone else. I don’t know. But I know that even though I’ve been a US Citizen for all of my years of life, I also can give the country a bit of a “Come to Jesus meeting” when certain things of America goes sour! This includes Racism. This includes Gun Violence. This includes Police Brutality. This includes Job Discrimination. This includes Sexism. This also includes Black Lives Matter! Even my choice on how to finish my college degrees in a format of my choice. This also includes that if I see a child or teen act up, I’m going to tell them NO! If I tell a non-profit job developer about the use of attacking me, like I did with the Milwaukee Urban League in 2005, I will call out the hypocritical mindet period! No matter who is in charge or works there. I’ve done it!  If anyone on Social Media questions my judgement or questions why I got this or that in a opinionated thought, I’ll question them back in asking why you want to know. If they want to get defensive, I’ll get defensive. That is like dealing with a bully. Or an instagater that’s always in your business.

Black folks who want a reason(s) for blacks like me to displays or wear a flag, did I give you my reason?

Let’s dont assume that with me per se rocking the stars and stripes is a worst thing in the world. I’ve seen worst than me that will make the question of “What are you celebrating?”look like a Co-Ed  Gym class on a worst day! Look here: If I want to display my way of the Red, White and Blue as well as the Red Black and Green basically it’s my right. I mean do we have this thing about Freedom of Expression? Come on!

There are bigger fish to fry that worring about a black male or black female wearing anything like Red White and Blue or the stars and stripes. And worrying about blacks celebrating the 4th. And just to remind the Conscious Crowd, even showing some revoultionary radical thought of conscioness can also be like showing a customized patriotism act of defiance. Even also addressing BLACK LIVES MATTER! And EVEN as I write right now, about 12:22AM CST in Milwaukee, Officers whom lost their lives in Civic Duty in Dallas, Texas.

Leave a Reply

