Clearly, this has been a rough summer so far. Just today, that there was another black life that was fallen in Louisiana. And the thing is, it’s all on Social Media, the news, and also the paper. I will say his name: Alton Sterling. Now many of us are just knowing the name of this man who passed on at age 37. I beat that age 2 years ago! But his death now makes the list of black folks who have died in the hands of police custody. And the thing is, he died the day after America celebrated another year of life of 240 years. Folks going ham on that. More on that in the moment. And also dude was making a side hustle by selling CD’s. What COP in their so-called right mind would shoot a guy that was selling CD’s outside of a store that was well known in his area of residence?

I don’t understand it. When we hear about black men being shot and killed in our communities, it’s like we are traumatized by this effect. By the way, I will blog about Trauma – Informed Care next. Matter of fact, we are all traumatized by these shootings, these stabbings, homicides, and many other things that harms the lives of black folks. Not just black men, but also black women! Alton Sterling didn’t deserve to die period! He should have been doing his hustle for his family and supporting his causes of what they might have been. It only took two white officers who pinned him down, shot him twice and held him when the paramedics came, and later died. And dude was ONLY 37 years old. The same age when Medgar Evers passed many years ago. I’ll bet that the chief of police or the mayor or the officials will be heavily under the microscope in further examination that their jobs might be on the line. If anyone knows how this feels, come to Milwaukee. We know the feeling Baton Rouge! It seems that the phrase of “Black Males are an Endangered Species” is really coming into play more in this era that the 90’s. The last time I heard that, was in the 90’s and I was teen then. But now in the age of Social Media, and smartphones, and gun idiots acting a fool on Instagram, plus those on Facebook like to divert the behavior of the hateful phrase featuring “you people caused this” along with the so-called Black Lies Matter phrase, every black life we see fall under these gun touting cops must be FURTHER EXAMINED and it’s apparent that they should be brought on charges against their craft of protect and serve. In other words, they should be fired. PERIOD! There is no excuse of them doing this at all. None!

And for the record, I’ve read about folks dying and getting into danger during Christmas, New Years, Black Friday,before the 4th if July, the start of school, summer break, and even also when Juneteenth Day happens! Bobby The Brain Heenan once said “Death does not take a holiday. There are no vacations for The Undertaker.” 

Now my second take: “What are you celebrating?”

It seems that the 4th of July with Black Folks have this mixed bag. A mixed bag that still lingers. A mixed bag that has this so called protest about that Black folks shouldn’t celebrate this holiday that had nothing do with them. I see it. And yes, when the country was formed in that year of 1776 as we all know, my black ancestors were in bondage. They didn’t celebrate the 4th. They weren’t free to celebrate anything like today. But yes, even Frederick Douglass called out the disdain of the attitude that the country was enduring with slavery for it’s first 76 years of the country’s life. That’s 1776 and 1852. Yes, Frederick Douglass did called it out and I’ll bet that many also felt like the same way. In the same way when Martin Luther King called out America’s Bad Attitude. Rosa Parks, Malcolm X, and a host of African-American men and women who have done the same thing. This recent thing online, about black folks (not all) rejecting the thing about not celebrating the fourth is not new. I’ll bet folks were doing this before I was born.

But: there have been others who subsequently Idid celebrate in a different way. Not because they SOLD OUT. There have been this phrase that blacks don’t think the same. We don’t! Some celebrate the 4th, some don’t. Now I already said that I celebrate the 4th, but also I say that the struggle continues. Even our black forefathers had to realize that even those some of them who were slaves turned soldiers in the Continental Army had to realize that even though they were fighting for freedom, they had to know that the struggle continued. And the seceding generations of black folks who went through the same channels of pain, plus freedom fighting, must had to realize that the struggle continued!

Let’s not forget, that even though that there were slaves during the country’s founding and the disdain, but also there were black folks back then whom were unsung that got out of slavery because of joining the continental army! Many of them were UNSUNG HEROES!

Unsung Heroes like: James Armistead who was a spy during Revolutionary War. And also countless others served as well whom were black! You “Fauxtep woke Conscious Black folks” need to read up more.

CALLOUT: WHY weren’t the UNSUNG HEROES of Black folks didn’t get mentioned on the Fourth? And I ask this to every black citizen who reads this blog and have this disdain of the Fourth of July! or in the verbatim: Fourth of YOU LIE! Any takers? Go ahead answer it.

Like I said in my last blog, you can’t please folks. If those want to celebrate the 4th, let them celebrate. Leave them alone. If you like Juneteenth Day same thing. However if you’re like me that celebrates BOTH the 4th and Juneteenth, don’t open your mouth! Keep it shut and move on. I’m tired all this stuff about what black folks telling black folks to celebrate and what not to celebrate. For me, if I want to celebrate the 4th of July with the Red, White and Blue on my house and having a Red Black and Green up at the same time, that’s my choice!

I don’t need no approval from ANYONE that harbors me about it. No one. Just to think, the last time I checked, I’m a grown man. Got my own mind and all. And I don’t need some silly so-called Internet meme, mixed with those whom should celebrate and not.

For any African-American (like minded) who celebrates the Fourth in some way, and it’s ok. The next time some wanna be truth teller or a person who is so woke, asks you a question like: “What are you celebrating?”  Tell them this:

I’m celebrating life with my family.

I’m celebrating the blessings that God has given me.

I’m celebrating my gifts and talents.

I’m celebrating my achievements and I’m celebrating me always.

I’m celebrating my Independence of what I do freely every day even in times of struggle.

Add life lessons too.

ANY QUESTIONS?

For those asking the question: What are you celebrating? in relation to the fourth, may I ask you the same question? REAL RECOGNIZES REAL! – And that also can be “conscious” too. So to me it’s fair game. Think about it.

I got love for my black folks, and leaning on the ancestors for confidence, but still I must do me!

Oh, last thought:

SSP The Struggle Continues

 

 

Leave a Reply

