For quite sometime, I had to sit and reflect on certain things about those who attend church and those who don’t. Especially those who grew up in church and now have a conscious decision to condemn it to be a freethinker. Yes I’m talking about them as much as those in church who might not do the Christian thing of giving and feeding. That being said, I’m going to bust out a exclusive of my own experience that if you are a church attendee in all that acts a fool at times, and a non/former church attendee that talks smack of deliverance. Guess what? It’s time that I put the gauntlet on the line where it lies: in the darn middle!

And to add: I’m going hard on this.

Now you may have seen various comments and things on Facebook or Instagram, the memes, or any other blog, or radio broadcast about those who think that the church is full of the hypocrites that go in all of the Sermon, and then afterwards they go to the Red Lobster for their sunday grub and go home. Then they don’t do the things they say they going to discuss about during the week. Does that sound familiar? Does it? Oh, and they pour in the money so the pastor can have that big mansion like house in the hills with the Jaguar in the front! Hmmmmmm……..Reallly? Yes I know i’m not the only one that had to comment this. But however, not all pastors don’t have big mansion like houses or Jags that the members pour in for Apportionments! And where is this coming from? Ask those who formerly went to church and really have that conscious Free-Thinking mindset. Or ask those who are not a member of a church who happens to go online to social media and literally BLAST the churches or the mindset of a church because it’s on the northside, or whatever. And that can come from a “Activist” that goes from protest to another!

Are they speaking the truth on this? Partially, they are half-right. Not totally right.

Now let me asking these questions.

  • Are these folks who condemn the churches straight to hell on Social Media think they have all the answers?
  • Do they have the answers to believe that being a free thinker is all what it matters?
  • Do they honestly beehove all the actions that they went though thinking that it wouldn’t be a future threat?
  • Do they TOTALLY HONESTLY AGREE that all churches should be on the duty in and outside the table in the community?
  • Do they honestly believe that they are hurting those who are giving their DEAD LEVEL BEST everytime they go into the church for service? And then later on to do more to volunteer and give back?
  • Do they STRONGLY FEEL that those go to church are coming out with a hypocritical agenda against those who don’t? Educated, Financially Stable, Attendance, Time and Talents, or any other option or goal that the goers strive EVERY TIME they learn from?
  • Do they actually care?
  • Why do they care?
  • And the personal favorite, in regarding the love of God, where is the fear? That’s right I said it!

I want the non-church goers and former church goers to answer these questions themselves. Go ahead share it. Don’t answer them to me! Don’t comment to me! And frankly those who do go, just sit back and be silent for a bit.

Now for you Church Attendees. Regardless if you are Christian, Jew, Lutheran, Muslim, Catholic, or any other religious connection. Let me ask these questions:

  • Are we really doing the things that we set out to do?
  • Are we Ashamed of the summaries of Christ? Or Allah?
  • Do we really go out to eat AFTER we hear the Sermon?
  • Do we do the work that our denomination or non denominations set out for us to do?
  • Do we actually set out and tell the good news?
  • Do we summarize our lessons learned throughout the week?
  • Have we really watched our attitudes and avoid being “hypocrites” with our actions and what we say?
  • Before the service starts, do we greet and or smile?
  • When the Pastor says “go out into the world and spread the good news”, do we?
  • When we have our days of giving food or clothing, are we following OUR rules? Making sure WE don’t get in trouble?
  • Is it well in our souls in trying to serve? (A nod to the United Methodist Faithful)
  • In discussions of being Godly, are we conscious at the same time? (I.E. Black Conscious, Socially Conscious)

This is why I’m busting this out. For all those who know it all either in or out of church, I got news for you: There is always something else!  It does not matter what church or denomination you belong too. And this goes for those who went let’s say:went  catholic or COGIC for about 5 years and assumed that they know everything and leave the church because of the worst things like: “Oh the bible is full of BS!”  Have you ACTUALLY read the bible? Have you have ACTUALLY READ the scriptures in your parents house or library or your grandparents house? Have you actually had your grandmother or grandfather,whether they living or deceased asked YOU (I’m talking to the know it alls per say) what did it meant? See, we don’t know SQUAT!  Man……some of us are just like immature kids. We don’t know squat, period! It’s all about tip toeing around the pond and not actually going into the pond!  And having conspiracy theories that many don’t understand. And on a side note, I will say that affects Church goers also.

My late Grandfather. One of my late Grandfather asked one of my family members about the bible when he was living, and he responded, “what do you know about it?” This is coming from him who was an Eremitus of his Church Sunday School for many years. That’s right, look up the word Eremitus to see what it is and you’ll know why it’s missing.

I have indicated before that I’m a 4th Generation United Methodist Church member. I was confirmed in the church in 1990 at the age of 13. That’s 25 years for so many of you keeping count. And yes, like a few others, I had and have ministers in my family that expand 2 or 3 generations. From my Great-Grandmother’s generation to Generation X. And yes, I had and experienced the good in folks, bad in folks and those who was just there for a short stint and moved on to greener pastures. And there are those who’ve been in the game through generations are sticking around want to make something happen. I’m sure many of you reading this who do dedicate services to your churches of any kind, that when you hear about all the negativity, you keep going with your craft to discipleship. No matter what anyone tells you. Even if they are church goers or not! Also be careful of the work that it arises.

And for those who are the former church goers and non-church goers who keeps talking about the hypocrites, what the pastor, bishops and apostles are doing in the sanctuaries along with the members: CUT SOME OF THE MEMBERS YOU KNOW SOME SLACK!!!!!! There are members in churches that are trying their dead level best to rise up and do something for their organizations. All of you really need to get your heads examined. Stop being so judgemental. And don’t generalize THE WHOLE DANG CHURCH! That is one of the main concerns of this whole conversation. Folks seem to generalize the whole group all the time. Just like when a black dude or a black woman per say sees their son or daughter making crimes and it blows up on TV or Facebook, guess what is going to happen:

Other communities will be like, “Oh, the Black Community this. Oh, the Black Community that……….”  And don’t even scream out #BlackLivesMatter!

The Black Community knows very well about being generalized as a whole, when it involves just a few knuckleheads. Where as when you have some church members or some church community members applying for a jet, or a new car: the whole village or city will be on their throats. Tell me I’m not lying.

There was a song that came out way before Generation X blew up, but our Baby Boomer counterparts know it: “Everybody Plays A Fool.” It’s not just church folks. It’s not just non-church folks. It’s EVERYBODY!  Whether you attend church or not, we need to watch it. We need to be accountable of what we do, say, think, or have opinionated viewpoints. Yes, that includes me.

Just recently, I was listening to one of my Black Milwaukee Radio Stations. Actually, it’s WNOV. It’s the only black radio station in Milwaukee. And a interesting question came up about Christians after church. The caller, assumed is Christian and a Female, that phoned in during the mid morning hours asked about why Christians don’t always spread the good news. The caller emphasised about going to the church, hearing the Pastor’s Sermons and after all of that is said and done, they go out to dinner and go home for the week. So after hearing that, (which is not new) my question is why was the caller asking the host about the church going procedures? And second, what is SHE DOING? Not judging, but asking. What is she doing to help to spread the good news? What is she doing with examples of her plight of her craft to ensure that good news? Not to comment further but the questions she asked the host, she should be asking herself those questions. No offense to her, her church, her ministry in all. But I would ask myself those questions instead going on the radio publically. Why you ask? It’s been asked over and over again. So why is this new?  And plus not everyone is the same as the female caller! Everyone’s God Given Gifts are different. That I’ll agree with.

  • Do I do the christian thing by helping out others or supporting others to the best of my ability? Yes.
  • Do I act as a hypocrite or charlatan for others? No. I was raised way better than that!
  • Do I give and receive as any other Christian? Yes.
  • Do I love God’s Grace and well as fearing God’s outcome? Yes.
  • Am I perfect as a Christian? NO!
  • Do I strive to be the best I can in and out of church everyday? Yes.
  • Do I force my Christian hand down the throat of those who moan and groan? As in those who don’t want to hear about the God Stuff? No.
  • Do I find ways to improve my church home as well as the community alike? YES I  DO!
  • Have I been in a situation in church where I was a victim of someone’s hypocritical mindset? Yes I have.
  • Have I been criticized by those who are haters in and out of the church? Yes.
  • Do I honor the work of the church with my gifts and talents and share that with those on the regular level? Yes.
  • Do I run around the sanctuary being filled with the Holy Ghost like those MegaChurches or any other church that does this? NO!!!!!
  • Do I tithe or have I tithed or attempted to tithe? Yes. And I know where the money goes.
  • Have I ever heard the words Hell and Eternal Damnation and ran out of the Sanctuary? No. And by the way, if those say “D*mn” in a church sermon, should realize that it came from the bible. It’s not all cursing related!
  • Have I dressed up in Jeans as well as a Suit and Tie? Of course. There is a rule that come as you are.

All of those questions and answers, I have experienced thus far. But like many others there is so much work to be done. AND YET I STILL GO!  Plus the things I described here, even though that my church experience have been shaky, mean, and also normal, I still go.

Do we say these things where our troops go to battle, or our officers on patrol, or any other high ranking official go and perform their duties? Even though we talk smack about them but still give them high  praise? We need to work on that.

I said before that there are hypocrites everywhere. Don’t fool yourselves! It’s not just church! Right now at work, you might have a hypocritical boss or an employee that constantly berates you like hell and you want to strike him or her.  But you still might continue to work or quit the job to go to another. Or start your own business.

You might had run ins with a Police Officer, a Deputy Sheriff, or maybe a well known official that seems nice, but is a hypocrite.

You might have hypocritical Football Fans in bars and at your house. And you root for the same team!

What about the activists or those whom are so conscious (UH-OH) who march around like kings and folks eat it up like clockwork? BUT…….might have hypocritical mindsets?

You even might have family members or group members, or Fraternity/Sorority Members that are like this. And wonder why you stopped talking or chatting or texting. Then they show up at a funeral having this solace to cover up the hypocrite behavior. HELLO!

I had ran into job related folks in Milwaukee whom were hypocrites because of my education I got from UW-Stout by not going on campus. I know the organizations and names very well. As well as those other companies that refused to hire black folks in the Greater Milwaukee Area based on income, experience, training, education and zipcodes. Tell me I’m lying Milwaukee! And I have never forgotten that. Even when I got my degree nearly 10 year ago on Stout’s campus through the commencement.

So I say this: we all need to look in the d*mn mirror. And really go out with a purpose and objective! The “Come to Jesus Meeting” is up and the seats need to be filled.

Leave a Reply

