Recently, the Govenor himself Scott Walker had done another slashing of education. This time it’s $300 Million in which that would effect classes, teachers, layoffs and many otehrs. Plus also what do us Alumni have to say about this? Personally, I think every single of us who have gone to UW-Madison, Green Bay, Milwaukee, LaCrosse, Oshkosh, Stevens Point, Stout and many others need to start speaking up and tell this govenor that we, as Alumni of our schools SHOULD NOT LET THIS STAND! Even though Scott Walker already given $200 MIllion for the new Milwaukee Bucks Arena, and I do understand that yes, the Bucks need a new home to play in or the NBA will be out to get the team to another city. I get that. However, as a Alum of the UW School System, like many of you, need to be concerned NOW how to support the UW-School System in which gave us love and degrees. So with that, here is my blog letter.

SideNote: And to my Sports folk:  exepect my Packers/Badgers sent letter later on.

Dear UW-School System (and Alumni):

It’s me, Stephen. I’m a black blogger from Milwaukee, and a alum of UW-Stout.

CALLOUT: We need to stand up!

I repeat, we need to stand up for our UW-School System. Now I know many have gotten our degrees and put them to work in our respected cities and also new digs, but I must say that its time that our former schools need our help.

I know also that we get those alumni newsletters in the mail about donate to this and that. And yes we put them to the side and forget it. But I think and believe that in the midst of this matter, I am calling on us UW Alumni to do one thing: GIVE BACK!

I don’t care if you are a alum of UW-Madison, Milwaukee, Green Bay, LaCrosse, Whitewater, Eau Claire, Superior, Oshkosh, Stevens Point, Waukesha, and or my UW School of Stout, we are in this!

If we TRULY loved our schools like we say we do, then I say as a UW ALUM, give back! There needs to be a unity of all UW Schools here in the state that is willing to give back. Even keeping the mantra of the Wisconsin Idea in full effect. And with me being an alum, with all the educational things I did with Stout, the Wisconsin Idea still lingers. Even with Distance Education! Don’t front!!!

I am also challenging all alumni of the UW to have gatherings at your next reunions or meet ups to discuss new ways to reach out about what can the alumni do to help this cause. Even doing a #UWUNITY T-Shirt. I don’t care. As long as it goes to whatever, it happens.

Make it happen if you want folks to learn and live!!

Sincerely,

Stephen

Leave a Reply

