Mark it down. January 21st will be D-Day for the Milwaukee Common Council in which they will vote Yea or Nay in regarding the Milwaukee Streetcar Project. Yes, it’s still a hot potato in which many might rock it or drop it. I think those who rock it, in a sense could lead to additional opportunities to jobs in which the city has been preaching forever! And those who like to “drop it” in terms of it being racist, a thing of waste, and also as I put it in my last blog, “Conflicted Viewpoints” among those who are angry and  protesting in disgust. However, my viewpoint is for one thing, and one thing only: Employment Opportunities to the next level. Not just about the routes, times, or highly concerned options. The main focus IS JOBS! PERIOD! So for that, I present this blog letter to the council.

And if those who are apart of the Milwaukee Common Council that uses WordPress, share this before voting!

Dear Milwaukee Common Council:

It’s me Stephen. Obviously, I’m a black blogger in the city by hobby.

It’s seems that you have a big decision to make in terms of the Milwaukee Streetcar Project. But before you make your decision of cost, structure, construction, and many other factors of human emotion and misguided dialogue: hear me on this of why it should matter to the additional construction ideas in Milwaukee. I often blog about Milwaukee being as a “tail-end”city. What I mean by that is, it’s always behind. And most recently, it’s also stuck in the word of “Can’t”. Twice as most of you are aware, we came so close with the previous projects that would have linked our City with Madison with High Speed Rail and not to forget another one: The KRM Commuter rail that would have linked Kenosha, Racine and Milwaukee to get to those unreachable places for those looking for work. Of course! We also have problems with the violence, with potholes, housing, and many other factors that needs attention. Even yes, addressing the ongoing saga of the death of Dontre Hamilton, in which his brother Nate used a platform on WNOV to speak out against the Milwaukee Streetcar in relation to get justice. And additionally with the saga of the Republican-like organizations of Citizens for Responsible Government and this recent United For Milwaukee forged by Alderman Davis and Donovan. These I think are factors of examples of just trying to keep Milwaukee held back.

I’m sure you’ve heard and/or stood on the platform of all this.

But now, here is my only reason of the project: Four letters here – J-O-B-S! I like many others have been saying and commenting and blogging about the need of jobs in the City. I’m coming at this from a general standpoint. We need more “improved and never seen before can do jobs” in Milwaukee! I feel that it’s high time that this city needs to start playing more poker of new things that seemed daring to compete. I’m not just talking about against other cities, but we really need to step our game up for the future. Recently, the Mayor said that he’s betting on the future. And I hope all 15 of you are betting on the future as well. Yes, we still live in a segregated climate where mostly of my ethnicity of African-Americans are somewhat considered a suspect to death! Yes, we have other factors that might believe that Milwaukee is a wrong choice for jobs when it comes to skills, experience, residence (especially for those who are black job seekers) and many other factors combined. And I’m sure many of you, recently viewed the news out of California in their debut of the Bullet Train for their state. They stuck with their idea (along with Wisconsin’s part of the HSR money) built it, and it’s fully operational to get from Point A to Point B. They dared, they built it, and it’s arrived.

For all 15 of you and this Streetcar thing, yes I know many of you don’t like the idea. And there are those who favor the plan that it should move forward. And there are those who are undecided. I believe it should move forward to get something started. You see, I’m a job seeker for better employment, with a bachelor’s degree in Industrial Management from UW-Stout, and I think this project with my college background skills should favor and interest me. I studied Occupational Safety/Loss Control, Strategic Management, Engineering Economy, Project Management, Statistics, Product Inventory and Control, just to name a few. And I feel it should be an investment not just the talk of wasteful government spending as the detractors put it. And definitely not controversial.

Clearly, I feel this should be a new investment to get this city going. And if  it’s not the investment of whatever, then Common Council: what is YOUR plan for the absence of the project? I don’t want to hear the same plans that have been burned out for the last 15 – 20+ years! I want to see NEW PLANS, NEW IDEAS, NO CONTROVERSIAL OVERALL EMPLOYMENT CAREER PLANS for this City! And unlike Alderman Joe Davis, it should NOT be racist or immoral but should effect those who are citizens of color looking for work.

And I hope that it should sink in for this vote next week after or maybe on the King Holiday.

So this is where I stand: I support the idea of the Milwaukee Streetcar for a new improved, fresh out of the box employment plans for the future. This is my reason and my reason only. There are other reasons, but I choose this reason to get things started. It doesn’t matter if it’s downtown or midtown, or uptown, this city as medium as is, needs something to think about. And do! This is my opinion and statement.

Sincerely,

Stephen

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

