I know I’m a little late on the scene with this, but I’m going to comment this hashtag: #BlackLivesMatter. And it does matter as much as any matter of human folks there is. Between the deaths of Michael Brown and Eric Garner, their deaths have really sparked an new genesis in terms that livelihoods of African Americans do indeed matter. Or black folks in general have lives matter. Now for those who feel that when you see the words: Black Lives Matter in one sentence, don’t go off by saying “Go get a job!” And don’t go by saying “Let’s go to a ball game!”Ain’t nobody got time for that. Plus I’ll dive in on the #ICantBreathe hashtag.

Let’s cut through the smoke here. Why this hashtag of #BlackLivesMatter? Why does it all have to be about Black Lives? I can hear some folks saying that now. Even I shouldn’t be talking about this during Sagittarius/Advent/Christmas season, but no matter the season, the concerns of the cries that scream out #BlackLivesMatter does not matter what season, era, generation, holiday, turn of the century, or any other change in generation! It does not matter! I stand with my black brothers and sisters who say or display #BlackLivesMatter not because they are black. I stand with them because it’s an issue, a concern, a right, and a expression that issues(racism, discrimination, wrongfully accused) need to be clarified and justified in this country that is known to be the United States of America. This past July, I posted about yes America is 238, BUT……..the struggle continues. And since then, the struggle has continued. Personally I have to ask, when a group per say of those whom are not black when things like this comes up, why the denial? What is it that there are not understanding? And no, having black friends do not count! They don’t! Saying the words, #BlackLivesMatter is not racist. It’s not to further divide anyone from anything. And neither not to have the “human power” effect. When other folks say or display #BlackLivesMatter, in my view that is saying that black folks in America have issues and concerns that many need to pay attention too just like everyone else.

Do I have issues?

Do I have concerns?

Do I have problems that need to be addressed?

You bet your Christmas bonuses from work I do!

And yes, my life, #MyBlackLife does indeed matter. Just last week Friday on December 5th, I turned 38 years old. And yes while I was and currently celebrating/observing my birthday (which you can still celebrate all month long), I was looking at a realization that yes #MyBlackLife Matters. Even though I’m about two ticks from 40, (hard to believe), my black life still matters in all angles! Real truth. There were times I felt attacked about my distance education in College, being in a store of racially profiled in thinking I’m going to snag someone’s purse from a non-black shopper. And also I was discriminated in finding a job among with other 390 plus black folks in the Wisconsin in trying to find work! Even though the civil rights case was ended with many of us getting 5G’s (aka $5,000 dollars) but the factor of race with #BlackLivesMatter is still out on the tables and the discussions must continue! No matter the family, neighbor, church, community, and if you’re part of the Divine 9, that matters also. Especially those of the groups of Delta Sigma Theta and Alpha Kappa Alpha Sororites whom their leaders told the members not to wear the letters while the protests are happening. Let me say this that it’s not what is on the outside in wear your letters, symbols or colors, it should be about what is in your heart! I don’t care what the leaders say, go out and protest anyway! Speaking of that, I see the Zetas with the colors and letters on, and joining the cause in this, what about Sigma Gamma Rho? And to the Fraternities: Alphas, Kappas, Phi Beta Sigmas, Omegas, and yes Iotas. Where are you?  Are you in this? With or without your letters and colors? I’m just asking! Martin Luther King Jr himself was a member of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, and yes he protested! And I must ask of those who are the OES, and also the Masons. Are you down?

This just in: As I was going to bed, the Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority had reversed their stance on members wearing the letters. Good for them!  For Delta Sigma Theta, according to their Facebook page message, they can wear the colors, but not the letters.

Now to switch the gears: #ICantBreathe.

Why this? These were the words that Eric Garner said before the NYPD choked him out to his death earlier this year. And the cop who did part of that, has been off the hook with no indictment. Shades of Michael Brown with Darren Wilson. Shades of Rodney King with the LAPD and Stacey Koon. Shades of Dontre Hamilton when former Milwaukee Police Officer Christopher Manney shot him over 10 times at Red Arrow Park. Many of us in Milwaukee are still talking about it and protesting his Dontre’s untimely death by Manney’s hand. Also, last weekend and part of this week, I’ve seen players from the NBA and some of the NFL dawning the warm up shirts featuring the words: I Can’t Breathe on the front. Now many probably crying foul over the message, but the message is catching on. No matter whom or what is on it. Take for example, LeBron James. He had on a I Can’t Breathe message on his shirt and Lord and behold, here comes the haters out of Fox News and led by Geraldo Rivera. Why is he still working? Geraldo had to comment that LeBron needed to wear a “need to be a better father” shirt. Really, Fox News and Geraldo?!!! This is the same fool that got jacked up on his own show 20 plus years ago. And the thing is, he always believed that Trayvon Martin shouldn’t had on a hoodie the night George Zimmerman killed him. Typical Fox News. The same network that still has black folks on the neck of things they don’t understand. And I often wonder what do the black commentators on Fox News are thinking? Never mind. There was a time I watched Fox News after 9/11 but after all the mess they comment about blacks, I flipped the dial. And plus don’t get me started about Sheriff David Clarke making an appearance. Wait until my next commentary.

But getting back to the #ICantBreathe message. Keep in mind, Eric Garner said that 11 times. And also, his daughter Erica, was pictured lying down at the exact same spot where her father was choked out by the NYPD! The families of Eric Garner and Michael Brown this year has to look at those empty spaces in the house and the rooms, where they used chill and its going to be hard! The holidays are here and they are not here to celebrate Christmas due to the acts of Darren Wilson, and Officer Daniel Pantaleo. Plus the Dontre Hamilton Family has to looked at an empty spot in the house and its a hard spot to look at due to the hand and the gun of former Milwaukee PD Officer Christopher Manney.

This weekend, there will be protests in Washington DC and New York City. Plus other cities. And on Sunday, after church service nationwide, the black churches as well as the faith community will stand in solidarity of the #BlackLivesMatter and #ICantBreathe messages. Plus also, note to the Church folks: Wear Black!

Leave a Reply

