Another Episode of the Three Way Dance. Where I take three different dance cards of some sorts of different areas of enjoyment or seriousness. For this, it’s all about the Ebola Virus, Raven-Symone’s comment of being colorless and a local comment of Wisconsin’s Governor Race between Scott Walker and Mary Burke. It’s time to go in!

First Take: I want to talk about this whole thing of Ebola. We’ve been watching the news and reading about it online about this deadly virus that killing many in Africa. For those who are effected by the virus either in Africa or America, prayers are sent. Now after reading more about the disease or virus that is a continued plague, I have to ask this, mainly in America of those who are “freaking out”, since Ebola is freaking us out like crazy to get to the doctors, why are we not freaking out when some of us we know gets Cancer of any kind, HIV, STD, AIDS, and I dare say Diabetes?! Where is the freaking out of that notion? And where is the freaking out of the notion of Flu Shots?!!  Now in the past in regarding flu shots, especially around the Fall Season, we’ve been told to “get a flu shot”. HERE IS MY QUESTION: And I’m speculating here and it’s not an opinionated piece. And if you’re a real doctor or nurse in the medical game I would like this to be answered in your knowledge: In regarding flu shots themselves, is it mandatory to get one, or is it optional? Let’s look at the word “mandatory” in meaning that it must be done, usually by law. I haven’t read any laws or restrictions that guarantees of getting a flu shot. Never read one. Again, if you are in the medical game, point me in a direction or a site, or a reference that backs this up. We know it’s mandatory to get checked every year, and it’s mandatory to get our teeth checked every six months! But where is the mandatory written for flu shots?! As far as optional is concerned, it’s basically by choice. Either you get it or you don’t. There are some folks that I know that don’t get flu shots and they stay away from folks who have deadly flus that pop up like a pimple on prom night. Just want to know. Plain and simple.

As far as Ebola again, look Americans. We know it’s here. And yes we had doctors that went to Africa to help fight the cure and came back affected with the virus. And we read about the NBC Cameraman that died in lieu of the virus took place. And also there is an individual that is clinging on to life right now in Texas, that is being watched constantly due to the virus. Whom is now just recently died.  Mainly it’s coming from the air, and we need to be prepared for the next outcome. So don’t’ act like it’s a modern day of the red plague!

Second Take: Raven-Symone.

I know the anti-Negropeans folks are out in full force. Oh, you didn’t know? I know that many in the African-American Community aren’t taking Raven-Symone seriously about her comment on Oprah’s Where are they now? show.

That was the clip was setting off the firestorm. Matter of fact, I’ve heard some black folks say this most of the time, in terms of rejecting their black side and try to get to that Human side per say. But how in the living you know what are you going to get to that human side without acknowledging your side  of being black? I kind of calling that shaming. Really I do. I’m going there. I heard these song lyrics on stat like: “Black is beautiful” and “Say it Loud, I’m black and I’m proud!” I know I’m not the only one heard those lyrics. In a church sermon one day, I heard my pastor talking about those who are acting as “house negros” that do alot more sucking up than those who don’t. Even some black Christians too. Believe me I know. Me, as a black man, African-American call it what you want, I do interact with different folks, but I don’t EVER FORGET what got me to the dance in the first place! What that means is I don’t hide, nor turn down my black side. Yes, we all are supposed to be on that “Human Race thing”, but don’t forget what got you in the human race in the first place of your origin of ethnicity. I’m just saying. For Raven, yeah she may have had her say, and she’s a bright young woman, who once lighten the room as Olivia on the Cosby Show, and “That’s So Raven”. I get it. But I don’t think she realized that there are those whom are young fans of her’s of African Decent, have probably asked the question based on her commentary. So, is it was feeling ashamed or just non acknowledgement?

And plus why do at times that black folks (as least some) don’t want to acknowledge to be black or had to cringe when to talk about the ethnicity when they were born with? Zoe Salanda commented this years ago about her cringing when talking about her ethnicity. WHAT?!!!! This is the same actress who wants to play Nina Simone in a movie, and previously played Columbiana, a younger Lt. Uhura, and many other roles. But this “in cringing being black” must be real silly! I think that it’s time that yes to explore the humanity side, BUT NEVER EVER FORGET: what got you in the humanity side first: Black folks who feel this way, you gonna learn today! This goes for my Gen-X folks, the Gen Y’s and Millennial folks: you’re in this too! No hiding. No cringing! Stop being ashamed!

Third Take: A Bump in the Wisconsin’s preliminary polls for Governor. Plus also a mixed bag. 

Well, it seems that the Mary Burke – Scott Walker race is setting up. Preliminary wise. According to the preliminary polls previously, (via the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel) Walker lead Burke in a 49% – 46% lead among likely voters. For the preliminary polls in August during we were all summered out, Walker lead Burke 47% – 41% among registered voters, while at the same time, Burke herself taken the lead with a 48% – 46% among likely voters at the time.

After the so-called “plagerismgate” of Mary Burke’s Jobs Plan, the Walker folks took a 5% addition over the Burke camp. Really?! All because of the sampling of Job ideas from other Democrats?

Now we’ve all seen the first debate between Walker and Burke. And by the way, the second debate will be in Milwaukee. The very same Milwaukee that Scott Walker didn’t mention in his State of the State Speech. The same Milwaukee that Walker doesn’t particularly like that much. Yeah I said it! During the debate, Walker got stumped. Really he got stumped by a woman! In that first debate, Walker dodged all bullets pertaining to the now blocked-Voter ID option for November 4th, and mostly as we all know: the amount of jobs he wanted of 250,000. If you are a Walker fan, I’ve told you once, and I’ve told you again, he will not get that far and according to the latest numbers: it’s about 130,000 jobs already pumped into the state. And Walker is near the end of  his first term. So where’s the 250,000 jobs again?! NO WHERE! And plus, did I mention that Talgo is gone from the state? And the results of that, you guessed it.

Now we also know that Mary Burke won the first debate. That’s good. BUT Mary must get at Walker for a round 2. Don’t just settle for Round 1 and that’s it. Plus that debate got Mary’s 5 points back to get even with Walker.

Leave a Reply

