Let me get this in before Christmas. Before anyone get to the malls for those last minute runs to the cash registers.  Or mailing Christmas Cards at the last minute.

I was looking at the recent story of TMZ interviewing Marion “Suge” Knight about this poll: We may have seen it.  But before the TMZ folks did their after commentary, Suge feels that saying African American is offensive, and he’s prefers to be called “N*gga.” Oh and this poll: it stated “Refer to black people as (box check) African American or (check box) N*gga.

TMZ PLEASE! Really?!!! You going to listen to Suge Knight of what black folks should be called? Really?!!!! WOW!

TMZ has been off my TV lists for quite a while, but after this “commentary” it’s high time they stay off. LITERALLY! And as far as Suge Knight is concerned, dude needs a reality check. I mean really. Where is the pride? I mean the pride in my opinion has died along with Tupac in 1996, and further more, Death Row Records. Is Death Row Records is still in business? Really I want to know.  However not everyone didn’t side with Suge. Chuck D went deep to White America: “We Ain’t N*GGAS!” This is what Chuck D had to say as a black man as he is: “Being called Black in America is the struggle to keep us moving and breathing over bloody water. Being a Nig**r or [Ni**a] without the context of history is like drowning in bloody water, dragging down those yet knowing to swim.”

Obviously, in a sad sense, there some black folks in America would prefer to be called “N*GGA” over Black, or African-American. I’ve said many MANY MANY TIMES, that to me, there is nothing wrong saying the words or term, or labeling things “African-American”. Period. Many will say, “oh, you’re not from Africa. You’re an American just like me.” But my decent heritage is African. I don’t hear the Irish Folks complaining about Irish American, or others complain about Japanese American, or Mexican American, and many other AMERICAN dash with it. But why I am constantly scratching my head, why does my race of black folks in this country, and other folks who had to dip in with the so-called PR negatives, had to say in context that “African-American” is a negative term? Minds are messed up. Or excuse my french, the minds are F’d UP! I would prefer taking African-American over N*GGA ANY DAY! It’s high time that we (I’m referencing to the black folks who read my blog, or those who wanna know) that it’s time to grow up from this. Really it’s time to grow up. Grow up with Pride. My other question in the video, why didn’t the TMZ black dude whatever his name is, didn’t speak up against it? Come on’ SON!

Read more: http://www.tmz.com/2013/12/18/chuck-d-suge-knight-black-n-word-african-american/#ixzz2nzh0OSoO

Now, let me switch it up. I’m not a fan of Gospel Music. No I’m not. But here’s something I am a fan of: Black women dressing up nice, grown and CLASSY! No matter if you are working in office or like Erica Campbell.  I respect the game Sistas!!!!! Let me show this pic if you don’t mind that was blowing up on Black Voices:

mary mary erica campbell

Now does she look good? For real, she looks gorgeous. Not hating at all.

However there has to be an hater from the pulpit had to bring up the dress thing being not godly. Check this, an Apostle Clergy Woman Stacey Woods had to take it to her Facebook page and to comment her look:

THIS IS NOT OKAY. Yes, you are a beautiful, curvy woman…but NO MA’AM YOU ARE SINGING THE GOSPEL OF JESUS CHRIST. Saints…smh COME ON.

Oh, plus she had more to say in defense of her commentary:

#1 The intent of my posting was not to attack Erica at all. I do not know Erica, have never met her, and NEVER passed judgment or even commented about her salvation, her relationship with God, her vocal contributions to the Gospel Music Industry, or her personal character. Yet, this article started off quoting MY comment as an attack. I expressed my concerns on my fb page that started out as a casual “lighthearted” discussion, but later exploded into comments that were so disrespectful they had to be removed. It’s interesting that the same Christians that will defend a dress, WILL CURSE OUT A PREACHER who expressed concern. We had a discussion that included over 300+ comments by those that both agreed and disagreed and most of those comments remain. #2 The article did not mention the gender of “the preacher” and most of the readers here assumed that it was a man, therefore, assumptions were made that it was a dogmatic, legalistic, lust-filled MAN who could not control his own sinful desires and therefore found criticism in Erica. Although it makes for “juicy discussion” it’s not the truth. The truth is, I am a woman, single, very content in my own plus sized figure. I do not desire or lust for this woman or ANY women, as I am a woman of God who is waiting on my mate, THE MAN OF GOD. #3 The comments here have blamed THIS as “why they don’t attend church, what’s wrong with the church, why they hate church folks…etc. when SURELY there are “deeper issues.”So, if (IF) understanding is desired, here is my take.My intent was this:
1. I want women of God to represent the KINGDOM without feeling as though they must become a sex symbol. THE WORLD sells sex, THE KINGDOM SHOULD PROMOTE JESUS.
2. Gospel music is MINISTRY, not just an art form or a genre of music.
3. We compel men to come through our love for Jesus, but when we wear things that are distracting, the message is somehow lost and it becomes abut US and not about Him.

4. I’ve seen TOO MANY…TOO MANY people dress inappropriately in ministry and THIS was only ONE example.While what I stated was seen as an attack, nobody saw the numerous videos that have been released to promote healthy self-esteem, beauty tips, fashion tips, or even the women’s conferences that did REAL outreach…providing clothing, shoes, and most importantly, JESUS.If a leader can not say that certain behaviors in the church are inappropriate, WHO CAN? Are we all suppose to close our eyes as gospel artist with revealing outfits sing about Jesus but bounce all over the stage in ways that can only be compared to the club? Are we just supposed to hush up about it and pray? Why not say to little girls that want to grow up to be JUST LIKE THEM, there is a better way to represent ourselves as women of God, and that was simply a bad wardrobe choice?

Let it be known, I am NOT jealous, envious, or lustful. I am a woman of God, curvy too, that will say that I desire to see us represent Jesus in a way that exudes HOLINESS and not sexiness. It was wrong when OTHERS did it too, and now its spreading through the industry as THE NEW STANDARD. OF COURSE there are greater issues to discuss, and greater ministry to engage in, but let’s stay on this one for a moment since we all took a glance at the picture and the article and shared our thoughts. Then, let’s continue/start doing the work of the church.

I would pray that my words would not be seen as an ATTACK, gossip, pettiness, or even judgment from someone who has nothing better to do but to criticize clothing choices, but as a plea with the Body of Christ, a body that seems to be slipping further and further away from HOLINESS and into worldliness. Everything we do is to now attract the world, when all we had to do was LIFT UP JESUS. However hear my plea, let’s PUT GOD BACK IN GOSPEL, AND HOLINESS BACK INTO THE CHURCH. It’s time to take a stand. GOD…AND ONLY GOD can see the heart, but let’s also focus on what is seen on the OUTSIDE and work on that too, while God is working on the heart.”

Really?

Well in that case, Erica had a comment about this also, courtesy of Essence Magazine:

I’m taking it in stride and I’m keeping it moving,” “When we took the picture I felt beautiful, I felt confident, I felt sexy and I felt strong.”

“I thought I looked cute,” she says jokingly, “but it obviously offended some people, which was never my intention.”

“This is about confidence and realizing that God made you and that you are beautiful just the way you are,” she says. “I think that young girls shouldn’t only get sexy images from people who are not proclaiming Jesus. But I am. And I’m cute too.”

SO WHAT’S THE PROBLEM, CHRISTIAN CHURCH FOLKS?!!!!

She looks good! Grown, Christian, Inspirational, Classy, and Sexy!  Cut her some slack. Erica Campbell is doing her. Something that this Apostle is not. I mean, she’s not going to the club and getting her boogie on for some dude with a Grey Goose. Jeez Louise. This is why partially there are haters in the Church. Always have to embrace this hate. I’m saying this as a church going person, and I dare say this as a Christian: BACK OFF! JUST BACK OFF!!!!

Or in the words of Onyx: BACDFU*UP!

Erica Campbell is not a slut or a Jezebel. I believe she carries herself respectfully. In a inspiration that is giving, acceptance, and morely highly regarding a way that to have some pride in her self despite of whatever comes up. Yes, doing God’s work is hard. I get it. I do it myself. But yes, there will be others who will just lay claim that they’re right and guys like Erica and myself and many others who defend her are wrong. In response to the judging: I think Apostle Woods was on a “judgment edge” in describing Erica’s attire and look. I mean she’s not “selling booty” here, come on! But didn’t Jesus say, come as you are? And I think a bible reference for this would be Judge Not! Here is the verse: Matthew 7: 1-3 says (in a Revised standard)  “Do not judge, so that you may not be judged. 2 For with the judgment you make you will be judged, and the measure you give will be the measure you get. 3 Why do you see the speck in your neighbor’s eye, but do not notice the log in your own eye?

I was taught not to judge folks growing up because I don’t know where that person’s story began or started.  So I don’t play that.

This so called thing will pass. I think Erica Campbell will use this to progress forward. This will be a non-factor in which it will be passed over. And on a musical standpoint, don’t be surprised if this would get Erica to the next level in her craft of music.

Leave a Reply

