I’ve heard this before. School is not for everyone. Or school is not cool.

No matter how you say it, it’s almost it’s the same sentence in which the educational portion of things gets all negative and not having the postitiveness of all things being well structured.

Now a 15-16 year kid is now becoming a story about school; brainwashing young folks, and also telling them to drop out. I am talking about Will Smith’s youngest son, Jaden. We’ve all seen what he said right?

Straight from his Twitter messages, he writes:

People Use To Ask Me What Do You Wanna Be When You Get Older And I Would Say What A Stupid Question The Real Question Is What Am I Right Now

All The Rules In This World Were Made By Someone No Smarter Than You. So Make Your Own.

School Is The Tool To Brainwash The Youth.

Education Is Rebellion.

If Newborn Babies Could Speak They Would Be The Most Intelligent Beings On Planet Earth.

If Everybody In The World Dropped Out Of School We Would Have A Much More Intelligent Society.

Everybody Get Off Your Phones And Go Do What You Actually Wanna Do

Really, young Jaden?

Obviously, this is nothing new. I’ve heard various versions of this before about school doesn’t teach or show. I get it. But why would Will and Jada’s baby boy would encourage his fans, or those who follow him want to drop out? That to me sends a red flag in sense of bad boundaries. What do I mean by that is yes, you can do what you feel when you are  older in all, BUT STILL: Education is a must. Obviously, Jaden is getting the wrong message in which many have been saying in the past. We can talk about the Mark Zuckerbergs, the Bill Gates, and even the Scott Walkers who don’t all have a College Degree. That’s a different story. However for a 16 year old who doesn’t know much, like I said, that has sending mixed signals of discontent for those who want to be EDUCATED, SUCCESSFUL and many others. Without having this notion of being brainwashed.

He says “School is the tool to brainwash the youth”. Which schools is he talking about? Public, Charter, Private, Home school, what?!! Let me tell you about my Public Education experience. During my days of a Milwaukee Public Schools student, yes I had to go to the classes, and get the courses necessary to make it out. I remember going though the Algebras, Geometrys, Band, History, Art, GYM (in which most should be doing in schools now), Reading, Math, and many other things that got my 12+ years in school out. Yes, I will admit, it wasn’t simple. But at least I’m building up on my learning continuously on my job, community work and many others that got me to the dance. Now I come from a family of educators. Have they brainwashed me? HELL NO!!!!! I got my Education not only in the classroom, but outside of the classroom. And I’m still getting that.  Recently on WNOV, (still I listen to The Forum), it was reported that the United States is behind in math and science. Which we all know. And as far as the jobs, with all due respect for those outside of America coming in to get trained up, WHY aren’t many of us (really with the Black Folks)  stepping up with STEM jobs and many others that require objective skills to adapt in this competitive world? I don’t care what the competition is. But it is competition. Where’s Jaden Smith’s commentary on that? I know. He’s 16. And he has this potential to think all we wants, like most teens do. But likewise, reality will come out to haunt him. I hate to say it. He’s an upcoming actor in the Smith family in all. But he has to get his boundaries straight in regarding education. And to those who follow him on Twitter, Facebook, Google Plus hangouts or whatever: I have a message for you. Yes, we can be successful all we want. I mean it’s a requirement since day one. And no doubt we want to showcase our talents, and gifts to make due for our progress and cause. But I have got to say this: you still have to be educated promptly to extend your learning, and your objectives.

  • You aren’t going to be successful by sitting on your butt and watching the parade go by.
  • You aren’t going to be successful by sitting on your butt, and complaining that your school or college ain’t doing nothing.
  • You aren’t going to be successful by sitting on your butt, and seeing the famous folks getting all the fame and glory, and the average uneducated Joe is still complaing that he or she not in the game!
  • You aren’t going to be successful by watching a tweet about telling folks to dropout (yeah I’m going there) and quitting school to be a good person in life.

Will Smith back in his Fresh Prince days used to say “Stay in school. It’s your best move!” It was real talk.

Can Jaden sample that for the greater good?

Leave a Reply

