It’s time once again for the Three Way Dance. I’ll comment on the Fashion Industry and the conjunction of Racism. 12 years after 9/11 in which must be remembered and a mystery subject in which might be a surprise. But you have to scroll down and see. And by the way, it’s a hard hitting thing in which a local company is on the pulse.

Last week, I was watching PoliticsNation with Al Sharpton. And one of the guests that he had on was Vogue Magazine Editor, Andre Leon Talley. Now I have never heard of this man, even though he’s African-American doing his thing in the fashion game. But he has addressed the issue of racism in the Fashion Industry. Frankly, most of us already know that Race has affected (and still effecting) EVERYTHING. No matter who, what, where, when, why and sometimes how. In the interview, Andre described that the institution of race in the fashion game as being in the words: rearing it’s ugly head. This in a new way. Am I shocked about it? Partially. I’m partially shocked because, that why would the fashion game, which is mostly white, and less diverse, have this facade of segregation? But like I said, I’m not surprised.  Now those who had to look at Iman, or Naomi Campbell or the group Project Diversity, who had to express their concern of racism in the fashion game, and I know the comments of “get over it” is coming into play.

Note to those who repeat the comment: If they haven’t walked a mile in the shoes of those who have been there and felt the pain of racism in various forms, they have a problem.

Diversity in Fashion Industry Stats

They don’t understand. Instead of making assumptions of “get over it” maybe they need to simply ask, and I know this is hard for some, is asking why they feel this way? What is the history of it? UM HELLO? But hearing Andre Leon Talley on PoliticsNation and just recently his feature on The Grio Website, it makes sense that that the so-called utopia of being a colorblind time frame is not being built – yet. If those who say they are colorblind, or have this notion that it’s not real, well WAKE UP! Those who are younger than me, I hear your commentary of not seeing racism. Or not being segregated. You may say that now, but as you grow up, I really hate to say this, but for some of you, or many of you might experience some form of racism in your lifetime. I was just like you growing up in the 80’s and 90’s in which none of that wouldn’t fade me. But what happened to me in 2010 when I distributed my resume to Dresser Waukesha, being discriminated because of my African-American skin tone? I’m just saying!  And it doesn’t matter what upbringing you have or soon to be had. Why do I continue to speakout about this? How come I can’t get over it and move on and be focused on my future? Well, I like to get over it, but in a sense, I have to reflect just as a reminder! And that needs no concern for anything.

Speaking of reminders: 12 years after 9/11.

The Milwaukee BrotherHood of FireFighters shown the documentary About our Sons, in which pays tribute to the African-American Fire Fighters who died on 9/11.  (@smcclintonjr)

The Milwaukee Brotherhood of Firefighters showed the documentary “About our Sons”, in which pays tribute to the African-American Fire Fighters who died on 9/11. (@smcclintonjr)

Simply we Americans remember where we were that Tuesday morning when the planes hit the original World Trade Center. I said Original. And it was a day that ordinary folks who were just going to work. And all of a sudden I turned on the TV, on my way to a job interview on a County Bus in suburban Brookfield, seeing that the Twin Towers was hit. I thought it was an accident. Then the second tower was hit. Then the Pentagon was hit. We were at war. Many of the coverages were non-stop. It was like hell on earth and I know I said this last year and the year before, but that has stuck with me ever since. Couldn’t watch the NFL, the MLB, WWE Smackdown was on that week in Houston, Texas and also the churches were PACKED! Especially my church. I also recalled about being asking myself about where was God that day, or get this: is there going to be a military draft? Which didn’t happened. It was a time that we are still recalling from in which the spirit of that keeps reminding us that yes, it has been 12 years. But the act of being watchful had been upgraded.  Since then the folks like Sadaam Hussein and Osama Bin Laden have died in separate years. Al-Queda is on the verge of weakening down, and I haven’t heard the words of “American Taliban” ever since.  Mostly in media. For the past 12 years also, we also recognized the first respondents of Police, EMT’s and yes Firefighters. Speaking of that, a couple of years ago, I was viewing a story about the 12 African-American Firefighters who died on 9/11. Yes if those haven’t been paying attention, there were black folks who died on 9/11 also. Plus survived.  The 12 black firefighters that haven’t been recognized are now getting their names out there.  Actually it’s been about a couple of years. But still the names are being recognized. Last night, I went to the Milwaukee Brotherhood of Fire Fighters Hall, and I saw a documentary about the 12 men who gave their lives of saving others. These men were black. But haven’t been fully recognized. As I watched the film, I learned that they like everyone else have been recognized. And they should be equally grateful about the recognition of service that many others strives for. Currently according to them that the percentage of Fire Fighters for whites is high, but for blacks is around 7%. This is in reference with Milwaukee. Now many have read or viewed this story being racist or what about the white guys that got killed in the attacks. Whenever I see or read about the subject, it’s mostly folks who are mostly white I read about that got killed or served on 9/11 as firefighters.  I hear no racism there. But when black folks get their names out, and had died for something like this, folks had to get mad. Saying it’s racist. I call B.S. on that. Can we black folks tell our stories? Or share our stories without being left out of Time Magazine? I’m just saying! Somebody tell me something! I’m just saying.

In closing: a surprise topic. Here it is and it needs no introduction:

I know it’s been 19 years since the first black late night host left TV, but in a sense, it’s crazy that Arsenio Hall came back. The last time Arsenio was on, I was in High School, and Bill Clinton was in office. I think in the last few nights, Arsenio hasn’t lost a step, but it will take time to get used to him again. No question, he has experience in the Night TV Game. Can’t take that away from him. Many of the “critics” are saying that he’s too old school with the 90’s, or maybe he should bring more folks in to get in with the times like the individuals right now. Don’t worry he will. Some might say it might take 6 months and no more to last. If those who got Arsenio back or wished he didn’t disappear, the support must continue.  Does Arsenio need to reinvent himself for the norm? Possibly. As the folks would say: “At least the brother is trying!”

Check this: If Ricki Lake can comeback in a new way after her original show was ended in the 90’s, why not Arsenio? I’m just saying.  Already, the ratings are going well. His first night, he was number one with a bullet. Which is good! But he has to keep the fire up in order to keep the dog pound in tact.

So supporters of Arsenio, you got him back. But now, like he says: Let’s get busy!

Related articles

Leave a Reply

