I had to wake up to this. As many today are out working for the clock, and others like getting back to school, we’re supposed to talk about the 50th Anniversary of the March on Washington. Right? Well that has still yet to be celebrated.

HOWEVER: This morning on my Facebook, and Twitter Feeds, there is an outcry about two words: Miley Cyrus. And the VMA’s straight out of the Burroughs of Brooklyn, New York. By the way the Barclays Center is new, which must check out for my future NY visit. Plus, this is my 18th year watching the VMA’s since 1995. Yeah, I’m old!

Now many have not yet watched the VMA’s, but I’m assuming those probably will in a sense. But after that twerking she did last night, they might want to go under the hood for review. Now for those who are shocked or surprised, let me ask: why are they surprised? I can hear Tony Bennett saying over and over again: “What did you expect, It’s MTV!” If you or those have been watching this show for a long time, YOU KNOW that historically, the VMA’s do this all the time. Or in another sense of sensibility, it’s been done before. Go back to the 80’s like when Madonna did Like A Virgin, or the 90’s, when Prince did Gett Off and had his back side butt cheeks showing. Or maybe when Brittany Spears had her “Madonna Moment” or dancing around the stage with the Yellow Boa! And to add: Lady Gaga. Oh trust me, what Miley Cyrus did last night, in my viewpoint was nothing new. I am saying this because it’s the truth. Now many probably said that well, Prince and Madonna VMA shows were slightly different in their heyday. Which is fine. And true of course. BUT Historically, in between in my view, with the VMA surprised or shock factor, it’s really nothing new. Those who think I maybe off guard, but know your VMA history! MTV has it on their website so feel free to search. Or google.

Well, I have to comment this in a sense like this: it’s nothing new. The VMA’s in my viewpoint were known for this. And still known for it. It’s not your grandparents or parents Grammy Award show about getting dressed up per say and perform. With the VMA’s when it was first unveiled until now, it’s about dressing down to the jeans and whatever and still get a Moonman. Or try to get a Moonman. Or a Video Vanguard Award. In speaking of the Michael Jackson Video Vanguard Award: I have to comment and ask. What is the length of time that an artist should be eligible for a Vanguard Award? I beginning to question how Justin Timberlake got his. Don’t get me wrong, I got respect for Justin.  But I think he should get that in a couple of years more. And there is going to be another artist in my view will come along and top 2013. Or someone from 2013 might say can you top this. I don’t have to like it. Nor I’m not defending Miley Cyrus. Nor I’m not defending those who Twerk. Twerking is nothing new either. It reminds me of the 90’s with the Doo Doo Brown dances. Or the Tootsie Roll. (don’t act like you don’t know!) Or part of that goes back to African dancing. Some folks probably might say, “it’s just a dance”. Well you better know the history! Just like when Melissa Harris-Perry schooled most of America about the history of the Harlem Shake!  And alot of folks got mad! Probably those who say: It’s just a dance. Let the kids have their fun. Yeah, I want them to have their fun too. BUT: they need to know the history about the dance and how it got started. Just like black music. I think Twerking is in the same line as The Dog dance. For you black baby boomers, you need to school me about the The Dog dance. I’ve heard of it, but never seen it.

And additionally, how come is it when blacks invented a dance like twerking or anything that is “afrocentric”, there is always another ethnic that is well known, has to do the same technique and made like they invented? And try to sell it without the deep knowledge? We better learn today!

Now, I might get pushed to say this: as I said before, there will be someone who will watch this VMA’s from this year, and maybe in a few more years, a new or well known artist might pop up and try to beat out Miley Cyrus. Think I’m lying? Keep watching the VMA’s for the next 10 or 15 years. Don’t say I didn’t warn you! And I want someone from the future who is just reading the blog I wrote about this to say, oh I remember 2013. But this person just trump Miley Cyrus bad! And I’ll be back to comment and say, what did I tell you?! And yes the parents will be having those discussions and having really to say. Don’t do that Miley Dance! And I wonder what will the preachers say. Oh, never mind.

I’m surprised that no one ever said this: MILEY, NO!!!!!!

Coming this week. I’ll comment on my viewpoint of the 50th Anniversary of the March on Washington. And trust me, no one will not stay on the sidelines!

Leave a Reply

