Part 1: So in regarding the case of George Zimmerman: Here’s an update in which the stories got next. And the verdict?

Posted: July 14, 2013 in #TwitterShare, African American Stories and Viewpoints, Black America, Commentary by all means, Decision Factors, Facebook Viral, My Special Commentary, News and politics
Tags: , , , , ,

Trayvon Martin Protest - Sanford

Trayvon Martin Protest – Sanford (Photo credit: werthmedia)

Well here we are. For those of us who have the hoodies up, we know the deal. For those who criticized the thought that we should focusing on other cities, well let me say this: What is happening in Florida with the untimely death of Trayvon Martin, could be a prime example of what’s happening in America among African-American young men and women. We’ve all seen the case, and we’ve seen both sides of the table running the gambit. And even we’ve seen explicit graphics and WORDS displayed on the screen. So the auspicious of all things, that George Zimmerman killed Trayvon all because he looked a suspicious in a hoodie. Or look suspicious in general while carrying Arizona Tea and Skittles from a Gas Station  – in which he bought, not stole! To talk about hoodies, or hoods, wearing a hoodie does not make those suspicious looking. Guess what, If you dress up in a business suit, or a business dress, or having on a shirt with a collar on it religiously, and if you bring that negativity upon someone, that might and would change the game within confrontations. Basically what I’m saying is, your attitude would be defined. It’s not the hoodie that ticked off George Zimmerman, it was his attitude, along with the gun had that direct result of killing Trayvon Martin. Killing a 17-year-old boy who was going home. For those who are STILL wondering why Zimmerman was on trial, and why is he not at home forgetting this: Know this – he killed a child! PERIOD! This stuff like this goes on in America almost everyday and does it get covered like the Sandy Hook Shooting? or the Priests in the churches or Pastors in churches who commit acts of Sexual Abuse among altar boys or females and they stay hidden for so long until it comes to light like what, 30 years later?! In those thirty years, those priests would be long for dead in graves, or even long forgotten through secrets. And most today do see it and recognize. But for a case like this, not much. Why is that? Every case has to be brought to light.  But we know that mostly in America, that most won’t care. I can hear this now: that’s not my child, or I’m glad that’s not my child! And walking away in a snobbish manner. But what happens if it was YOUR CHILD? I’ll bet when the folks of the Jena 6 were on trial in Louisiana, folks (majority black) rallied support, while some wanted them to be out of the pasture. Just today, I was on Twitter, and yes, the conversation about Trayvon was on two fronts: Roland Martin and Geraldo Rivera. Yeah, Geraldo was still petrified on Fox News to believe that Trayvon’s hoodie was the result of his murder. And plus had to put Rev. Al Sharpton and Jesse Jackson in the mix of accusing them of “racial boogeymen”.  Racial Boogeymen?!!!! (my head is turned slightly left with the right eye point blank stare)  However, on the side of Roland Martin, according to his tweets like he does every time when someone calls out the folks of their funk: he bring his – check out his website.  And expect Roland to #bringthefunk if you will, in September on TVOne, in a live show called News One Now. The same channel he hosts Washington Watch every Sunday.

Now both sides have had their say and the jury, whom was all  female, 6 people and 5 of the 6 jurors were White and mothers. One was mixed with Black and Hispanic. But all were employed in their 30s and 60s years of age. Mostly right now, many of you or those you know have turned your profile pics or profile related pics dark until the verdict is done, which is has.  And also, I think that the MEDIA needs to stop it with the so-called presumptions of riots. This gets me: whenever I see some or most folks who win championships, they had to turn the downtown streets into a war-zone. And I’m not going in on the ethnics who mostly are behind the bonfires and setting off fires after a team gets a win. Or a loss in Hockey! Or when a well known player like Lebron James left Cleveland for Miami, here come burning the Cavalier jerseys. Whuuuuuuut? – as the folks say now. Why direct that, the part of the riots towards blacks? Media, stop playing with the so-called predictions! I mean seriously. Yeah we talk about the L.A. Riots, the riots of the past during the 60’s, and so forth. There are those now, who want to express peace. If you want express peace without a doubt then do it in a fashion of doing it. Not just talking about it.

Next month, in Washington, in August, will mark 50 years. This year of 2013 has had it’s share of 50 years after the death of Medgar Evers, the revised reminders of Emmett Til, the 50th Anniversary of the Freedom Riders making their way to DC to the March on Washington. Also, if you are a member of Iota Phi Theta Fraternity, you will also be celebrating 50 years as the youngest Fraternity in the Divine 9. But mostly: the March on Washington and the infamous words of Dr. Martin Luther King of “I Have A Dream” will be long summarized. And yes it’s the best speech on the planet. BUT what has anyone from those who think conservative per say or think progressive or liberal who acknowledged King’s Speech, had done to maintain the dream that King wanted us to work on? I’m tired of those who say or quote King to get a point across, and DON’T SET AN EXAMPLE! This is what it’s wrong, right now. Too many reminders, but not enough action!

Plus also the 2013 year has had the screeching halt of Warren Ballentine, Judge Joe Brown and Michael Baisden. Plus where I’m at in Milwaukee, we lost 1290 WMCS, the Free Labor Press, the talks of Derreck Wiliams, Ernest Lacy, and now a black teen named Corey Stingley in suburban West Allis recently passed on, by the means of shoplifting. In regarding about Corey Stingley, more on that to come. Regardless of the verdict which was not guilty, there is one thing that is true. The vote will not bring Trayvon Martin back. And I know that based on the picture that is above, maybe a hard sight to see, but again: it’s the reality that is being dealt with. Sort of like when Emmett Til was in his Casket after being murdered for whistling to a white woman at the age of 14. And that pic was shown for ALL to see! For those who think it’s all about the Left Wing ideology to promote this based on race? It’s not. Stop the pain! This is about a child that was taken violently from his parents, his school, his friends, his church, and anything that dealt with the connection in a positive way that was apart of Trayvon Martin. YES, he was black! And yes partially it’s a red alert dealing and seeing racism as a result of this. I’m going there TODAY! Screw that “justice has been served” crap on George Zimmerman. Keep in mind, he MURDERED a 17 year old unarmed black teenager and got off scot free! Last night, there were commentary about George Zimmerman might run and hide. He better! Its like he’s got a huge bullseye on his chest. Or in this case, a bounty.

For those of us who are mad as hell, I want to address this to my African-American brothers and sisters, either you are a reader of this blog or just want to pass along for an RSS feed, it’s time to rise up. It’s time to rise the (you know what) up. Yeah, we talk about the 60’s, the old school SNCC’s, NAACP, Urban Leagues, the MLK’s  and the REAL Civil Rights Movement when it was really cracking. That was when black folks stood up! We need that back. We need that back in a sense of  today’s era of Technological, Social Media, era. In an era when the Voting Rights Act was shot down, and DOMA was risen up. Look here: I said this on my previous blogs and I’m still saying it: I appreciate the platform of our Gay/Lesbian Folks, but their movement is not, (I repeat) not no where near close as the original thing. This verdict has had a ripple effect in me as well, and yes, I am an African American male that is always on the watch! No matter where I drive, hangout, socialize, work,  display, and many others. To those who are apart of the BMCR, Black Fraternities and Sororities, Eastern Stars, Masons, Elks or any other well known group that has African-American members, or have been started by African-Americans, forget about your colors, your sides of fame, and or celebrations of longevity of who’s been here since the 1900’s – WAKE UP! I want address the Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Folks. Yes, I know you are in Washington DC celebrating 100 years. Or should I say continuing to celebrate 100 years. I see you. I see what you said thanks to the internet. But like everyone else, you better rise up in terms of what your founders and customs have bestowed on you at a time like this. I’m just saying.  And also: 2014 is a voting year. Get out and VOTE UP! These crazy punk laws have gotten us in my view, very bewildered. We all better vote not just in 2014, in every single voting year out there. Every two years, we get to the polls no matter how big or small. It’s time to represent as if Obama is on the ballot! Some say that those who reside in the suburbs, may not feel safe in the city. Guess what: I might be afraid to go into the suburbs and might get recognized for a suspect. Double Edge sword swing mighty sharp.

And to those who are non-black. I want you to listen: while this encounter may not mean much to you, but I think you would have to understand of what it means to be black in America in terms of going through hard stuff like this. I also hate to say that many you have been brought up with values. I have also. Also brought up with clubs and organizations that you donate, or fences per say to put up. But I am here to tell you (I will be straight on this) and I don’t care if you are a business owner, a reader of my blog, or your friends blog list, or brought up in a good family of generational traditions, or whatever. I don’t care if you are in the military (yeah I said it) , or in a well-known college or university, if you are in a situation that your clubs, medals, good conduct, traditional values in which you thought was good for a while,  nor if you are apart of the debate team, or a well known fraternity or sorority of country clubs: NEWSFLASH – they will NOT save you! I want to be clear on this right now. They will not save you. Even playing or listening to black music or being Beyonce or Jay-Z will not save you. I’m being real. Even if you like the Right Wing Media, they will not save you. I’m just saying. And furthermore: this commentary of clothing is just pathetic. If those who think Hoodies are the problem, dead wrong. Guess what, I’ve seen folks who dress up in business suits, wing tip shoes, power ties, Khakis and Polos, business dresses (ladies)  and I’ve read about folks who dress like that, also can also be thugs, pimps, prostitutes, jezebels, dropouts, and guess what? It’s not always with baggy jeans, baggy shirts, and hats turned back to reflect the gang life. So like it is: it’s a basically an attitude approach! Also the discussion of race will ALWAYS have a toll on the table. The race card, as most call it will always have a deck in the shuffle. And the hyper sensitivity about those who say, “I don’t see color, I see a human being.” If you saw me face to face in a conversation, or in a public place, the first thing you see and the last thing you will see is my skin tone of black. I don’t buy the propanganish quotes of not seeing color. You will see color upfront whether you like it or not. But in a sense, you’ll see what I do in terms of doing work in my community the right way. Time to learn, America! To me, this striking thing is like turning the clock back 200 years. Didn’t we have a birthday? like July 4th? Like 237 years? They say that Justice does not work for black folks. Well I think, “justice” needs to listen up.  I hope that this does not last for about 3 weeks or less. I want this to be a constant reminder of as we go to work, school, our clubs and other functions we attend or donate. If you don’t remember what I just wrote, remember this: Justice needs to listen up. Period. Because if it doesn’t “listen”, we don’t listen nor respond. Just as the same to rally around our kids not just for school, but everyday. I don’t have any kids. But if I did, the watch will be on them all the time!

Part 2 will come this week.

By the way, I attached a link to a picture of Trayvon in which was passed around online. And yes MSNBC made a mistake of displaying the photo. Just a warning: if those who are really sensitive about graphic footages or graphic related footage, do NOT click the link labeled “constant reminder!”

Leave a Reply

