Well let me begin with a simple statement: Happy Birthday, America. All 237 years of the Declaration of Independence. In a country that is still trying to get “there”. And country where the creed where “We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal”. – We better. And we should. But in the recent events of Voting and Gays, I have to comment that the issues of both has been mixed.

Now I have to pick on the Supreme Court again. In that 5-4 decision that the Voting Rights Act of 1965 was recently not revised, there has been this facade that the Justice Roberts, and Justice Clarence Thomas and others who felt that it was years ago and and it’s changed, based on race and votes: NEWSFLASH! Things haven’t changed that much. I wish I had a box. A “loaded box.” I want to put Justice Roberts and others who feel things that changed in their view, I want them to go through the most segregated, poor related areas of America. Especially in the inner cities of America where mostly African-Americans are getting shafted almost everyday! I want them to go to the meetings in which those who are fighting the redistribution of the voting areas just to make it harder for folks to get to the polls and have a voice to vote. Just as also to go to the districts who have a hard time getting a ID just because to VOTE! I’ve been voting since 1996, and I’ve been voting in every single election since. Big or small. And 2012 was by far the best voting year I’ve been in. In Milwaukee, I was one if the 87%  in the black community that voted up big time! And those think that we black folks have been voting too much. Whaaaaaaaaat?!! – As the folks say now.  Seriously, is this how we are celebrating the 4th this year?! And I dare to ask this again: How is striking down the Voting Rights Act of 1965, is a back burner to Gay/Lesbian Rights? Like I said in my previous blogs, those in the Gay Community: Express your platform. I don’t care about it. Have a ball. Let me take pictures on my Nikon in Milwaukee. But however, what they have to understand that the real Civil Rights like the VRA per say, is the original plateau. Not a copycat. I hate to put this on the day in which we honor the 4th, but I have to say that “Real recognizes Real”. Period.

Now I want to pick on Milwaukee. Right now, we have our annual Summertime festival of music taking place called “Summerfest”. It’s an 11 day festival, full of music ranging from Folk, to Hip-Hop. Rock to R&B. Indie to homegrown. Instrumental to vocal. We got it all. Summerfest has been around since 1968 and yes it still remains one of the best Festivals in the country. And I dare say the Midwest. And it’s right on the Lake Michigan Shoreline and I’ve worked there twice. But however, I was reading a news article about a Caucasian woman, Cassandra Struve who is in her 20’s, was beaten up by 2 black females all because of her playing a Cab Calloway song on her Saxophone. Right near Summerfest, mind you. And it’s becoming a uproar in the community yet again, about the rate of Segregation in the City. Yes, Milwaukee is still the remaining top Segregated City in the country. However this attack on this young woman was just hate. My question is after all of this, to the two black females that jacked her up, do they know a Cab Calloway song? Or the career of Cab Calloway? Just saying. Plus however, I know I’ve heard this in church that let’s say you have someone on your job who heard about this, and a white person per say comes up to a black employee and asks did you cause this? What is up with you people? The two keywords that I’ve heard in the sentence that was demeaning is “you people”. First, the black employee did nothing wrong to that person. It’s more of that dialogue that continues to fuel the racism on both angles. That’s a double standard. Remember when Darius Rucker was slandered on Twitter by a so-called white person who said to him to “leave country music to the white folk?” I’ve haven’t said this in a while, but that double edged sword is mighty sharp!
image

So now, we’ve read the Declaration of Independence. And We’ve read the” all men are created equal”. But sadly, after this day is over, after the food has been eaten, after the fireworks have been silenced at your parks or districts, after the parades and television specials like A Capitol Fourth has been concluded for another year, there will be more stories of Segregation, Racism, the hate on African-American men/women, LGBT, voting rights, Minority concerns, education, jobs, healthcare, residence rights, civil rights, and others will still be on the pulse. Even the ratchetness of folks will continue to escalate. No matter what is displayed. This summer in the Month of August, will mark the 50th Anniversary of the March on Washington. – The very same event in which we all know that Martin Luther King, Jr. gave on of the best speeches on the planet, “I Have A Dream”. Now, I want to provoke the thought here, if those who use Dr. King as a preface of making their points across against those of let’s say black column writers who write things that are not understandable to others, one question: What have they done to maintain King’s dream? I dare to ask those who are well “conservative” the Tea Party, some progressives,  independents, or those who have weird usernames on the JSOnline comment stuff, what have they done? I can say this: NOTHING! Nothing but talking.  It’s time to get back to the Old School Tree of Learning. Or in this case: rebuild the tree! But on a side note, I do decorate my residence with the red white and blue, and yes John Adams did say that the holiday is a annual festival – “I am apt to believe that it will be celebrated, by succeeding Generations, as the great anniversary Festival. It ought to be commemorated, as the Day of Deliverance by solemn Acts of Devotion to God Almighty. It ought to be solemnized with Pomp and Parade, with Shews, Games, Sports, Guns, Bells, Bonfires and Illuminations from one End of this Continent to the other from this Time forward forever more. You will think me transported with Enthusiasm but I am not. I am well aware of the Toil and Blood and Treasure, that it will cost Us to maintain this Declaration, and support and defend these States. Yet through all the Gloom I can see the Rays of ravishing Light and Glory. I can see that the End is more than worth all the Means. And that Posterity will tryumph in that Days Transaction, even altho We should rue it, which I trust in God We shall not.”

We should know.

And plus, I had to sample a page out of the playbook of Eugene Kane today via Facebook. He writes and comments:

Happy 4th of July!
But don’t get it twisted:
1776: “All men are created equal.”
1865: “…& blacks.”
1920: “…& women.”
1924: “…& Indians.”
2013: “…well, maybe not blacks…”
‎#SCOTUS ‎#VRA

REAL TALK and Just Saying.

With that being said. Happy Birthday America.

The struggle continues and the beat goes on.

Leave a Reply

