My Take: The Michael Baisden Show should have stayed on. It’s like with the death of 1290 WMCS all over again.

Posted: March 25, 2013 in African American Stories and Viewpoints, Decision Factors, Editorial, Local, Milwaukee African American Commentary, Organizations
Tags: , , ,

What is the deal with Black Radio? Really what is going on?!

Michael Baisden just announced that he leaving radio. Now I’m going to ask towards the end: What’s next?

Ponder that. What’s next?

For the last 5 and a half years, I’ve enjoyed to listen to The Michael Baisden Show. No question, what I’ve learned by listening to him is about engagement. Engagement in which we the black community should be concerned and having our joys and important issues to discuss. It was the Michael Baisden Show that had me listening about being engaged with the Presidential Elections with Barack Obama claiming victory. The Jena 6 struggle in Louisiana, health issues, and yes the Battle of the Sexes. But overall, the Michael Baisden Show gave me a good perspective on the Black Community and issues at hand.

It was because of The Michael Baisden Show, that I’ve heard about those in the community from church, to Fraternities/Sororities all coming out to help a cause. Many of your cities and states (possibly) had already begun or still having an idea of generating ideas to get and stay engaged. Now keep in mind, Michael Baisden Show shut the country down! Big Time. It was not only because of Old School Music like Michael Jackson or the O’Jays, but also it was real topics in which those on the right wing would not even talk about in concerning African-Americans. You don’t hear Rush Limbaugh going down to Louisiana way back when, and support the Jena 6!  Nope! That doesn’t concern them. And we know that Rush Limbaugh wouldn’t support that if he were serious. And the National Mentoring Programs, Trayvon Martin Tributes, etc.

Now the question again: Why the need for Black Talk Radio? Look here, I say Black Talk Radio needs to stay because I want to hear issues that other folks DON’T Talk about. I want to hear issues that the Top 40, nor the Caucasian folks usually skip over. Now granted some caucasian folks (in a progressive/liberal stance) don’t usually skip over black issues. Unless if they have black folks on them. Here in Milwaukee, it was a reminder of us when WMCS had it’s last day on February 26th unceremoniously at 10:00am was no more. There was not a warning, nor a chance for the personalities to acknowledge their appreciations of Good-Byes. The same happened with Michael Baisden, his office staff at Cumulus Media, was locked out! No access nothing. Between now and March 29th, you will hear pre-recorded shows of the segment, but not hear him nor George Wilborn live behind the microphone. And to add, Baisden had 7 million listeners nationwide. And I did mention about the show having a influence with the Obama Campaigns, his show started that in 2008 for black folks. And it was the President himself acknowledged and appreciated Michael Baisden for getting his name out there. So basically it was The Michael Baisden Show FIRST that got Black America introduced to Barack Obama.

On his Facebook page, he post this comment about the “lock out”.

The Michael Baisden Show Staff has been “Locked Out” of Cumulus Studios…really Cumulus? In the words of Rodney King, “Can’t we all get along?” Just because we couldn’t come to an agreement is no reason to deprive the listeners, our affiliates, and our advertisers of only 9 days to say goodbye and show our appreciation. All their action does is make me more determined than ever to come back! And next time there will be no middlemen between me, my affiliates, and my listeners. Lesson learned! Now it’s time to get to work on the return of the Best Show On Radio… and I’ll be kicking butt and taking names.I’ll miss you family, stay tuned to Facebook and Twitter for my daily inspiration post and updates on the return of The MB Show! The journey continues!!! 

~ Michael Baisden

P.S. You’ll hear per-recorded shows through March 29th. Shame, Shame, Shame… but it is what it is, let’s move on, we have lots of work to do!

Now before the lockout announcement he had this to say. Now mind you, this was before the lockout and it was appreciative:

Who would have ever thought that a black man from the South Side of Chicago, with no college degree, no formal training in radio, TV, or writing, and the youngest son to a single 17 year-old teenaged mother with three children, would one day lead civil rights protest and help to elect the first black President. Life is truly amazing. I am proud of what I have accomplished with my life and look forward to what is to come next. Life is full of new beginnings, whether it’s a new relationship or a new business venture; change is the one constant…and we must learn to embrace it. For years I’ve encouraged you to step out on faith to live your dream, to never compromise your principles, and most importantly, not to be afraid to try something new, but above all else, dare to be different. Well, it’s time for me to practice what I preach. When I began writing books in 1993, my only goal was to have a positive impact and challenge people to think outside the box. In 1995 I took that leap of faith and left my job with a four-year-old child to support, three thousand dollars in my pocket, and a dream. And as strange as this may sound, there was never a doubt in my mind that I would make it. Call it cockiness or confidence, but I was determined that no force on earth was going to stop me from realizing my dreams. And after five best selling books, two stage plays, two televisions shows, three DVDs, and one of the most successful radio programs in history, I’m just getting started!

No, it was not my intention to leave radio, I had plans for The Michael Baisden Live Tour, my 10-year anniversary party in DC in July, and I was looking forward to being on the air this summer to get justice for Trayvon Martin and his family. But sometimes fate, the universe, God, or however you want to label that undeniable force, has it’s own plans. Someone once told me that the greatest experiences in life are unplanned ones. I guess I’m about to test that theory. 

The details about what happened are not important, what is important is that we stay connected. I will continue to say good morning and good night and post encouraging comments on Baisden Live on Facebook and Twitter daily, along with those breath-taking pictures. I hope you won’t get tired of reading my post now that I’ll have more time on my hands. lol  It’s been my honor and privilege to serve you everyday for the past 10 years from 3pm-7pm ET. No man on earth has more to be thankful for than me. Your support made it possible for me to take care of my family, invest in the community, and help inspire thousands of people to live their dreams. What’s bigger than that? But before you go getting all mushy on me, this is not the end…it truly is the beginning, or as I like to say, it’s the next chapter.

I have already begun reaching out to leaders in the community to start building more mentoring programs and creating organizations that will allow us to network so that we’re prepared for the next Jena 6 and the next Trayvon, because there will be a next. Just because the mic goes silent doesn’t mean I will.

There’s an old saying that a man’s true character comes to the surface during times of adversity. Every stage of my career has been difficult, that’s the price you pay for standing by your principles and doing things the right way. I may not have the same paycheck come April 1st, but I will be able to look at the man in the mirror and be proud of the reflection that’s looking back at him, and that’s what being a real man or woman is all about, you must stand for something! Although you may not hear my voice every day we can still stay connected. Make sure to join me on Baisden Live on Twitter and Facebook. We can’t blame, ”The Man” for our problems when we won’t even join a free website to communicate with one another to find out what’s going on.


The lights go out on Friday March 29th, so I’ll see you on the radio at 3pm ET tomorrow and every day until then to celebrate what “WE” have accomplished! And if there’s one thing I know how to do it’s throw a great Old School Party!

~ Michael Baisden

P.S. The only thing better than a going away party is a welcome back party! So, save a spot for me on the radio dial, I’ll be back sooner than you think. And when I do…it’s going to be hotter than ever!!!!

Word around Cumulus Media, they didn’t have an agreement with the show to press forward, and made the executive decision to cancel the show after 10 years. Yes. The Michael Baisden Show was on for 10 years! Now it comes to a point that promoting something is one thing, but now, you need the financial support, sponsor support, and other support from businesses, people, groups, organizations all black related. It’s a new monster that the African American Community must confront. Other ethnics know this and they do this. But for us that are African Decent, I hate to say this but it’s time to own and promote our own stuff! No more going to the Culumus Medias or other medias that may not want us around just because majority of us voted up for Barack Obama twice for the presidency, per say. Oh yes. The haterism still exists in another form of fashion. We had that in Milwaukee with 1290 on February 26th, 2013 at 10:00am  when most of us should have been listening to TJ Live, but instead, Elvis and then Martini Radio.

Knowingly that Michael Baisden will be back behind the microphone. BUT HOPEFULLY in an Ownership/CEO type fashion of his own radio show company. In the meantime, I must ask this question: what’s next?

Leave a Reply

