My Take: I have to say something about the PSA announcement by Sheriff David Clarke. Really, I do.

Posted: January 29, 2013 in African American Stories and Viewpoints, Commentary by all means, Decision Factors, My Special Commentary
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

In the recent days of the talk about Guns in America, an announcement from Milwaukee came into the fold in regarding the stance of defense, dialing 9-1-1 not being a best option, and the phrase “Wolf at the Door”. Many in Wisconsin are having a divided debate about the radio announcement that Sheriff David Clarke of the Milwaukee County Sheriff Department had came out and the results are not that promising to favor or not favor.

If you haven’t heard it recently, here it is:

Now what is the “Stephen’s Spot” take on this? Now with all the use of the guns going out, there is no need that the city, nor County of Milwaukee shouldn’t be wilding out at the OK Corral. This is not the Wild West, and not I’m not a cowboy. But partially I will say that yes, the citizens should defend their families. As a matter of fact, EVERY citizen should have a right to defend themselves and their homes when intruders show up unceremoniously. Oh, yeah the thought about the melee from 2010 with the Wisconsin State Fair still rings in very well doesn’t it? And I heard the comments about “I can’t wait for November 1st to come fast enough!” That is just as bad as “build it now” when it comes to the Milwaukee Brewers and Miller Park. I really also have to ask, what happened to Self-Defense? You know, Karate, Kung-Fu in all of that? Technically, I would rather use Mixed Martial Arts on a jobber than use a Desert Eagle. Or like the wrestlers in the WWE, break out the Kendo-Sticks and steel chairs. I’m just saying. Many folks now tend forget that using a Gun is not just the only form of Defense. Yeah, the folks can take all the Concealed Carry Weapon classes all they want. But will that CCW stuff save you soul? I’m just saying. Also there is nothing wrong with dialing 9-1-1 being a joke. OK, Flava Flav once said it. I get it.

Now I’m not advocating “God and Guns” here. Save that for the Tea Party and the Republicans. But keep in mind that Sheriff Clarke is a registered Democrat, but gets love from the Right Wing Media and I dare say the Right Wing here in Wisconsin. That may sound weird, but it’s the truth. Plus the Sheriff is African-American. Not a shock! The debate about this PSA, has even reached the national Airwaves of Fox and Friends and also CNN’s Soledad O’Brien. Now, I’ve seen Soledad doing her thing on CNN with these interviews, and she doesn’t mess around. But I think that there should have been another person getting into the grill of Clarke. Two words: Roland Martin. That’s right I said it. That’s what I said Wisconsinites! If Roland would have been given a chance to interview the Sheriff, he (the Sheriff) would not have a field day of his defensive front to get crunk like here in the Milwaukee/Wisconsin Areas. Like Soledad, Roland doesn’t play either. Every now and then, the hashtag sentence of #bringthefunk would get the attention.

Plus recently, he was featured with Mayor Tom Barrett on Piers Morgan, and I will say that even though the debate of the subject got going back and forth with a little of overlapping, Piers asked a simple question to Sheriff Clarke in favoring Universal Background Checks. Obviously, the Sheriff went “long ball” with the judicial and courts stuff. But…….It was simple question! YES OR NO! How hard can that be?!

Lot of you probably went to Youtube, and saw the David Clarke ad and said “oh, I gotta use this!” My advice: Don’t fool yourself. Just my opinion.

Leave a Reply

