It seems that a new movement in Milwaukee has been birthed in order to save the young from being shot or killed. Last week as most of us in the Wisconsin Area were gearing up for the NFC Divisional game, there was a well-concerned discussion about this slogan: I will not die young. Which is the city’s version of Saving Our Sons. Now for those who are unfamiliar with Saving Our Sons, I highly recommend you watch TV One or go onto their website or a YouTube clip to see what is the hubbub is about in terms of this matter. The scene took place at Coffee Makes You Black, yes that’s the name of coffee shop, which is black owned. But however, the 300 folks who showed up weren’t in the cafe for Cappuccinos or Hazelnut coffees. This meeting was a matter of how to keep the killings of young black males from dying before 25 years old.

Muhibb Deyer, 37, tells a crowd of more than 300 why the issue of Saving Black Boys is important.

Personally, as I was reading the story printed in the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, and viewing the pictures on Facebook, I had to positively think that this discussion is long over due. No need to wait on the Mayor or the Governor in order to ratify a main solution to get things done. That is up to the citizens, mainly the Black Community in the city. I know that the main routes out of this is the usual “go to college, and a job simple as that”. I see that coming from some non-blacks. But I’m here to tell you, as a black man, that may be the most option, but it’s NOT THE OPTION!  No one never told me when I got my degrees from college and worked part/full time that would be the best option. It’s not. I read about  folks who have College Degrees or Certificates/Worked Part-time and or Full-Time and still run into trouble. Or being a victim of trouble. And partially, black. Many believe that it’s the schools fault. Mostly it’s the parents who don’t give a rats carcass, are part of the problem that needs solved.

In 2002, as I previously stated in earlier blogs, I commented about how I lost one of my cousins due to violence at age 21. And everyday around the summer, I drive past 47th and Center streets in Milwaukee and think about him of what maybe shouldn’t have been if he weren’t shot. Oh yes, I do reflect. Lot of folks at times who say, and I know the kind of folks opposite of me usually comment: Grow up and move on. Well let me tell you, sometimes, just sometimes there are things you can’t let go. I hear all the time that black males are the endangered species when it comes to this. I’ve heard it in the 1990’s, and I’m hearing it now. Which is nothing new.

What needs to be done now in 2013 and beyond, is to confront the problems head on! Usually when we see these or read about these incidents in the Newspapers or on the Internet, most of us usually have the SMH syndrome. We make a comment and just shake heads in disappointment. That’s mostly what it is. I want to know when will the black community or those in the Black Community need to stop shaking heads? Or getting off the knees and actually doing something after the prayers are asked? I know I shouldn’t be saying this, but someone has too. ME! And I know alot or some of you are nodding the heads in agreement. No matter if you are a church going person, or involved in community activism, or if you’re a part of the Greeks organizations (no matter which one) Fraternities  Sororities, neighborhood block folks or many others. It does not matter for this. Also where are the job folks, those who own the companies who at one time knows how it felt to be in those circumstances? Time to gear up!

This spark of a new dialogue in a problem solving sense, I think will be more and more talked about. And I know that the females are probably asking, what about the black daughters? The Girls? No disrespect to the black females, and I know that it should be a boy/girl concern talk, but after mostly what is going on with the young black males, that to me has to be worked on first for the concern of young black males in general.

Leave a Reply

