I did say that I’ll write a blog about being overqualified. And what I’m about to reveal it right now. One day, I was on the LinkedIn website, and I was looking at jobs for the Greater Milwaukee Area. I chose the company to seek out, Brooksource, an IT Staffining Service. The company is based out of Indiana, but do have locations within the country. However, I put in a resume for a job of Corporate Recrutier and the ending result in the next couple of days: Overqualified.

I’m like: Overqualified?!! Really?!

I remember emailing the recruiter about asking why I was in the terms “overqualified”. The response was weak in terms of my diverse background experice. And also the company itself is very small. But likewise they also wish me well in my endeavors.

That what was said mostly. However, with a person like me being “OVERQUALIFED” is not acceptable. I want every company, every company like person, or any company man/woman ask a question:

Why do you not want those who are OVERqualified?

Why are you are afraid of potential candidates like me who have a diverse background experience? Or what, you’re thinking of me being greedy? What’s Up?!

Companies say all the time that they are looking for good people. WELL……..I am good person of hard work.

I also took a look why the word “overqualified” was a red flag for companies who are stuck up. According to the sources, either they don’t want you, you may want to quit for finding a better job for better pay, you’re too old, etc. Technically, that to me is nothing more being “discriminate”. And Brooksource SHOULD know better! I remember writing a letter to Brooksource’s Manager about the situation and I have yet to hear or see a response from the Manager.

In the pathway of me finding a job, specifically in Milwaukee, it’s either because of experience, because of my skin color (yep, I did mention Dresser Waukesha being discrimitive against African-Americans) and now…..Overqualified.

Look, I’m about to turn 36 in December, and I thought I would never fit in with the “Overqualified Crowd”. I do realize that the companies are looking for the younger crowds to take over or to enhance work. I’m not against that. What I am against that companies using the “STUCK UP” crap, of not letting guys like me getting a chance to continue to shine up. No matter what.

Just another barrier just for folks like me to stay out. Sad.

This is not just a slap in the face towards me or others like me. And by the way, if you have been in the same boat as me being overqualified, you need to speak up. I don’t care if you write to the President, or your local officials who you voted to put in office. Now some are saying, “well that’s life. You get picked or you don’t.” I get that. However like the President said, in regarding Americans getting an opportunity: Everyone gets a fair shake!

Obviously, Brooksource DID NOT get the message.  And with them being a small company in all, is no excuse! That is unacceptable.

Leave a Reply

