OK, for those who bashed Black Girls Rock, ENOUGH! I see the oppostion whining and complaining.

Posted: November 4, 2012 in African American Stories and Viewpoints, Calling those out to be accountable!, Celebrations, Decision Factors, Editorial, Organizations
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I gotta say this before election day. I was on my Twitter/Facebook feeds and those were talking about, or commenting the BET Show, Black Girls Rock. From my black man’s point of view, I’m glad to see that BET has a show in which that black girls and black women can collaborate and/or appreciate the work done for their craft. But recent I had to go to the social feeds and some were just negative not only coming from the black folks, but some white folks as well. All I saw on there mostly was: “Oh, were supposed to be equal. Black Girls Rock is racist.”

FLAG ON THE PLAY!

What was so wrong about the Black Girls Rock show being racist or degrading? Where is it coming from? To quote my mother: “What is this?!” Obviously, that talk I saw on twitter and facebook must be coming from some young in’s  or the “know it alls” (sort of) who felt that everything was not understanding. And I’m assuming that 2Chainz and the “Bands that make her dance” song are at fault? Come on now. Seriously, in general, what is wrong with the show, Black Girls Rock? Explain that to me. Don’t worry I’ll wait.

I don’t feel a bit concerned about folks of their opinion. However I am concerned about those who approach the subject, have a negative view of it, and don’t get the gist of it. From my understanding, Black Girls Rock, is not just an awards show. It’s also an organization in reaching out to young black girls of empowerment, achievement, goals, objectives. The person who made the organization, Beverly Bond founded the program, is a celebrity DJ, activist, Philanthropist, and previously, has been honored by Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority. Black Men: Where’s our “Rock Show?” Black Fraternities, where are you on this?  I’m just asking. Not to be competitive. But I’m simply asking the question of what’s up? So I say to the so-called folks who love to stand on the soap box thinking it’s racist, think that Black Females who have no business rocking with achievements, either they must be suffering from Romneyism, or just having that low self esteem in terms that they don’t deserve it, then the hater-ism of our own will continue to erode in us. – That’s for the Black Folks. And those who are non-black and believe the nonsense that was displayed, WISE UP! It’s just like the Ebony Magazines, or anything that displays black stuff in a non-racist positive way. Let me give you an example. There was a time in history in which most of us can relate, you couldn’t see the positiveness of blacks by pictures or beauty. Wonder why Ebony Magazine, Jet Magazine and many other black related news outlets, programs, events, were created? And by the way, most wouldn’t be found in a school book! That’s right I said it. Or when we turn on the news, our news websites, Facebook, Twitter, MySpace, Google Plus, TweetDeck, or any other news article we grasp, we tend to look at those like Blacks in a negative light. Reminds me of that viewpoint of that test. BUT can there be black show, or a black event that showcases positiveness in blacks? Especially for today for our kids? I don’t have any children. But if I did, I would educated them about the Lena Hornes, the Dionne Warwicks, the Harry Belafontes, the Stevie Wonders, the Michael Jacksons,  and yes, the Alicia Keys, Beyonce, Michelle and Barack. They believe (according to the Twitter feeds) that the 90’s and 2000’s musicians were trailblazers. NEWSFLASH, where do the 90’s 2000’s musicians get their influences from? Education is needed!

So to those again: WISE UP! If you don’t understand the reasons, then why whine and complain? – Sort of like voting.

*the microphone and soapbox has been demolished by dynamite*

Leave a Reply

