My take: The Oak Creek Shooting at the Sikh Worship Center

Posted: August 8, 2012 in Decision Factors, Editorial, Local, News and politics, Religion
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Taking another Olympic break here.

For the last two days or so, the nation was watching footage from my home state in regarding the shootings at the Sikh Worship Center in Oak Creek. If you don’t know where Oak Creek is in Wisconsin, it’s a Milwaukee Suburb. Yep, a Milwaukee Suburb. Now there already has been shootings in small suburban areas before in terms with violence. We know. However, for a city like Oak Creek, is no different. Now, I’ve been to Oak Creek, and worked in the city as well. Yes, it’s a good suburb, but however, it could have elements. when I was in church a couple of weeks ago, there was sermon I remember about folks could come in with guns and open fire on a congregation.

Actually this is not the first time that stuff like this happened in Wisconsin. Back in 2009, there was an incident involving Terry Ratzmann walking into a Brookfield church and open fire on some members of the Living Church of God plus the pastor. They were all dead after that, and just to think that Terry joined the church, and was a member for several weeks. Word had it that Terry was suffering from depression, walked out of a church sermon which he felt wasnt likeable, and the fear of losing his job.

I had to go back to 2009 on this one because we are seeing the exact same thing that the Sikh Community is experiencing right now. Now I’ve been looking at this, and it’s like recurring fear all over again. Alot has been asked, how is Wisconsin is somewhat feeling this or immune to this? Let me tell you. I’ll bet everyone is probably asking that same question every single time. I also hear that “oh this happens in Milwaukee.” If the incidents like this can happen in Milwaukee, it can happen anywhere.  A couple of weeks ago, I blogged about safety nets. Remember that? In lieu of what happened recently, I’m asking this, where are the safety nets? The local malls, schools, neighborhoods, movie theaters, well known voting districts, or the church/worship buildings? Seriously! Where are they?

Now I can hear some say, “I can’t believe that folks can open fire in a church or a worship center!” If that can happen there, it can happen anywhere. No matter where it may be.

Now for the Sikh Community who had to endure this, based on a person, like  who served in the Army, and have this crazed mind of being a white supremacy group, is very strange. First, for the Sikh’s who lost those close to them, I have to express my sympathies. I don’t know them. Never had the chance to meet them. BUT NO PERSON of any faith – Christian, Jew, whatever should not deserve this at all!

Leave a Reply

