I will say that I saw one of the most inspirational movies that I can vastly enjoy. With an all-African American starting cast. Despite of the skeptics and cynics, Redtails to me hit a home run. Not because of the glamour, but what is really stood for the tribute to the men who fought, died and served during World War II, The Tuskegee Airmen. Now there are those who might say, “Oh Redtails is that fighter movie that had blacks in it”. Stop saying that! Yes, Redtails is a movie about the black pilots fighting, but they helped to break color barriers in the 1940’s at a time when the U.S. Military didn’t accept the integration (as of yet) with African-Americans. Even though the men who encountered the racism of not being recognized, and through the Tuskegee
Experiments, they had something to prove: to be recognized as Military Pilots, to be recognized that yes African-Americans are worthy of establishing the ability to serve in the military, and also to lead, inspire, and improve relations among men in general.

I know that this is the first weekend. And yes the glamour was already seeping in. I also understood that it took more than 20 years to produce. Now there are those, why did it took more than  20 years? One word in my view, Racism. And another, generating support. Now for me, I think Hollywood will regret this because they have overstepped  on Black Films. Even black film makers, actors, actresses and more. Now I hope with the success Redtails, this would probably bust down the doors even more. We know that 10 years ago, in 2002, Halle Berry and Denzel Washington won their oscars, which I think started a “new revoltuion of acting” for African-Americans. Later came Jennifer Holliday, Jamie Foxx, Morgan Freeman, and even MoNique all winning Oscars. Finally getting recognitions.

Now I hope that those that see the movie, there should be thoughts of asking themselves, “Have I learned something today,  based from this movie?”  Will those in America can FINALLY listen to African-Americans about listening to their stories? Every other American that I know of, has done this. But now, it’s my culture’s turn to tell the stories. Knowing Redtails will be huge, even more I think, in the hearts of movies goers for Black History Month. And also, the movie will be the talk of lessons at the dinner tables, community meetings, churches and mostly in the black community. And other communities.

Overall, the movie I think was indeed inspiring. Tell that to the critics who have the **1/2 starts or poor commenting.

“To the last plane, to the last bullet, to the last minute, to the last man; WE FIGHT!, WE FIGHT! , WE FIGHT!, WE FIGHT!”

Leave a Reply

