This ain’t over – the war saying Merry Christmas vs Happy Holidays

Posted: December 20, 2010 in Holidays
Tags: , , , ,

If you are real fan of Christmas or don’t get offended by this greeting, let me say “Merry Christmas”. Did I offend anyone? Or, let me say “Happy Holidays”. Did I offend anyone on the block? Hope not. This war on Christmas or saying Merry Christmas does not offend me, so my question is…..why is it offensive? Ok, I get it. Not everyone celebrates Christmas, or as I like to call it, “The greatest holiday of all time”.  Yes, I am a Christian and do celebrate Christmas in the 12th month. Do I get mad when someone says Happy Hanukah, or Happy Kwanzaa to me?  I’ll be real here. I don’t. Even though I’m not jewish, I will kindly say or comment, I celebrate christmas not hanakah. Just being honest.

Overall, this war on Christmas is nothing more than a ploy on emotion. Emotion on themselves. That’s all it is. Does this remind you of a certain Christmas story, of a person who well hates Christmas currently and in the past was sort of liked the holiday? Then the present came as well as the yet to come? Yes, I’m referring to A Christmas Carol, the one that made Charles Dickens famous. It appears those who hate Christmas, have that miser attitude for a long time, and change.  I know that happens in the fictional books and movies in all. And yes, in real life there are “scrooges” that hate Christmas or lost beliefs in the holiday.  Ok. I think know the true answer! Then again, maybe I don’t.

Now if you don’t feel that Christmas is not your holiday worth celebrating, don’t celebrate it. Just apprieciate the holiday that Christians believe that Jesus was born on an occassion that was needed for a future leader. Besides – Santa Claus. I have to say that I comment that saying Merry Christmas or Happy Holidays or Seasons Greetings does not harm me. Period. Not because I’m a christian, or an African-American, or just living in the midwest, or rejoicing that Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell will be six feet under. FINALLY!

So to those who are not offended – Merry Christmas!

Those who are not Christians or don’t follow the Christmas stuff – Happy Holidays, Happy Kwanzaa, Happy Hanakah, or Seasons Greetings.

God Bless Us Everyone.

Leave a Reply

