My Senior Year- John Marshall High School Class of 95 Share

Posted: February 18, 2009 in Local, Music, Organizations, Reflections, School Daze, Summaries

JMHS Senior Year!Share

My Senior Year- John Marshall High School Class of ’95

Ok I thought this one would be funny. . .

Fill this out about your Fill this out about your SENIOR year of high school! The longer ago it was, the more fun the answers will be!! Thought you all who knew me back then might get a laugh out of some memories! Share yours!

1. Did you date someone from your school?
Unfortunately no, but I had some flirts.

2. Did you marry someone from your high school?
No. I stayed single and cool. Which I’m blessed to say that, unlike those who hate it.

3. Did you car pool to school?
Yes. MCTS Route 62. From 41st & Capitol to 64th and Capitol. And back again. Plus the flyers were nice.

4. What kind of car did you have?
None. I’ve had my parents or sister to drive back sometimes. Either in my Sister’s ’69 Plymouth Satellite, my mom’s 87 Grand Am, or my Dad’s Chevrolet Corvette – which by the way he still drives! Still, I had to take the #62. Plus, I didn’t start driving officially after 2004.

5. What kind of car do you have now?
2004 Pontiac Grand Prix GT. Man, I should have showed that at the reunion.

6. It’s Friday night…where were you?
Wendy’s on Capitol after a Marshall Football Game, at a Youth Church Outing (bowling or skating, etc), playing Nintendo, or at home looking at Urkel – which I miss dearly.

7. What kind of job did you have in high school?
Every summer I was a Outreach Tutor at my church. Basically it was tutoring young neighborhood children in reading, math, art, and chaperoning on field trips.

8. What kind of job do you do now?
Independent Contractor – Custodial Duties/Secretary at my church, and on a side, a City Election Inspector, helping Milwaukee folks to vote up. But I’m still looking for something better, even though it is a recession going on.

9. Were you a party animal?
No. Now you know why I stayed out of trouble?

10. Did you get suspended or expelled?
No.

11. Can you sing the fight song?
Let me see: (Clears throat and pulls out the lyrics, and Saxophone) – someone scored a touchdown (remembering a thought)

Hey look us over, we’re Marshall High
We are the Eagles Ever flying high
We’ve got the spirit, we’ve got the pep.
We’ve got the team that’s always right in step.
Go get ‘em.
Hey look us over, we’re Marshall High.
We are the Eagles ever flying high.
We can never be beat because we’re neat,
As everybody knows,
So go get ‘em Marshall High.

Just a side note: If you were in music or band, you could also sing this as well as play. But then again maybe not!

12. Who was/were your favorite teacher(s)?
Before he left, Mr. Grauer was a potential favorite.(I know, results matter, excuses do not) Mrs. Grundwaldt use to say, “Don’t Go to that Mall!” – in referencing Capitol Court. Mr. Bruggink, Mr. C. from Economics, and I would say Amy Corell but then again, maybe just those for now, lol!

13. Where did you sit during lunch?
By the doors in the lunch room, towards the PA Area. I’ve sat there with friends during 4th hour lunch, 5th hour lunch, and 6th hour lunch. Best spot in the room!

14. Who was your least favorite teacher?
Hard to tell. But I will say this, one of the teachers Mr. Crandall gave me a hard time in Geometry. I went to that dude for help during the 10th Grade and still flunked. I was so disappointed and saddened, that I did not get the job done. But I came back in my Junior Year and roared with a B average, with a different teacher.

15. Biggest regret from high school?
I have at least 4 questions/comments:
One: why none of the girls wanted to date me? I was a nice guy.(Still a nice person) I may not have been a “rapper look a like” but hey, at least I dressed good half of time. And plus I got flirted on. Some of you may remember this. But then again, maybe not.

Two: When we said “K.I.T” in our yearbooks, did we really mean it? (like after graduation?)

Three: I never got the Sousa Honor Band Award. (Bummer) But later in life, I’ve earned my perseverance through my craft through other areas of my music skills. At least my church is keeping me in line on this. Believe me they know.

Four: Besides music, making the honor roll with 3.0’s, having my name in the JS Student Achievements (twice), Children’s Theater, and stage crew, maybe I could have been in sports, sort of like golf. Just to enjoy the thrill of the game, and getting a “95” on my Band Jacket – which I still have. But at least I did something in High School!

16. What was your worst high school memory?
Let me count the ways: Remember the Homecoming Pep Rally in’ 94? Nothing but M-80 firecrackers. Stupid Vandals! Or let me go back to Freshman Year, when we were on the news and in the Journal about the food fights, windows busted, and the drive by shootings at the Homecoming events of ’91. I didn’t go to the dance that year. I also remember Mr. Tolefson walking into the Band Room, and we were rehearsing for the Halftime show that year. And he told us that we were the last hope of bringing the school together. And he was right. Although the Football Team lost to Tech, but our halftime show seemed to resurrect some healing for us.( Us as in Marshall) Also, there was a parent teacher meeting at the school talking about the problems that had the school in an uproar, which was on TV. And the principal, Dr. Matthews (I think that was her name) got fired, and Mrs. Griffiths came in. My freshman year by far was the worst, but miraculously, I, like most here, survived. And plus I survived ending with a 3.0 GPA, and being promoted to the 10th Grade. Some have said that Marshall hadn’t prepped us well after the stage walk, maybe true and I can take a test to that. But over the years after Marshall, I’ve learned to grow maturely beyond high school like everyone else. It’s like evolution.

17. What was your best high school memory?
See the next question about the Band, Homecoming 92-94, Police Bands, etc.

18. If you could go back and do it again, would you?
Why not. It was a fun time. More importantly, being part of the Marshall Band to me was an inspiration and a challenge. I can hear Grauer saying “Stay in step!” Mostly towards me. But I improved in the 10th. I still talk about the band getting the first Grand Marshal’s award in 1992. Plus, in addition to the band trips, remember the Black History Program in 1993, when the Jazz Band was announced, and most of the student body booed at us? We played our songs of :”I Can’t Turn You Loose” from the Blues Brothers Movie. A Michael Bolton classic, “When a man loves a woman” and our favorite that we practiced more, “Sunday Morning”. And I was apart of the first Jazz Band, in which we got our respect. No question that I’ve had some mad props from those that spotted me in the hallways. We also did the same thing at the Basketball Pep Rally when the team was going upstate. Plus, a song was featured we did was “Peter Gunn”, another jazz band favorite which was definitely crunk. And we know what happened after that: Menomonee Falls, we lost, big fight, etc. It also helped me to branch out to other community bands: Milwaukee Police Band, going to Marquette University and playing along with their band, High School Honors Band, and even my first All-City Honors Band in 1994. Plus, going out to Madison and playing with the special-ed students at half-time during a Badger Game. And in addition: I’ve won a solo award from the WSMA on the tenor sax, by which was bestowed or given with a gold medal. What an honor and inspiration to elevate my craft, and plus for the record, I still play my horns! And maybe one day I’ll make some solo vids on FB.(if that’s ok by the most of you!) And of course, me getting my boogie on with the running man and hammer-like dances at Homecomings 92-94! Plus stage crew and children’s theater – which was Amy Correll’s idea!.

19. Did you have fun at Prom?
Yes, although I came without a date, but I earned the right to go. (Unlike my mother wanted me to hook up) And plus I had by boogie on – Electric Slide. And I remember being featured in a “don’t drink and drive” Public Address video make with more of the class. If anyone has a copy of that, please let me know!

20. Do you still talk to the person you went to Prom with?
Let me restate that question: Do you still talk to those who you went to the Prom with? Yes and no. But other than that, we were good. No matter who they were. Even if it was someone who was already there without a date.

Leave a Reply

