What to see, not to see, and do in 2008- Part 1

Posted: January 4, 2008 in Reflections

The year 2008 is here. Welcome to the ’08. I must admit that 2007 was a dark, bleak, friendly, attackable year for me, but the thing is, I got through it. So with that in mind that 2007 was stored in the history books and dead at 12:00 midnight on January 1. Now I kept thinking to myself that the New Year is like a blank check: What do you want to do with it? – for 366 days. Keep in mind that February 29th, is a leap day that comes every four years!

2008 is an election year. So expect me to do some election work. With me being as part of the election community, there will be more voters registered this year. Simply because of the road to the White House. And speaking of that, I predict that the switch will come from Republicans to Democrats, but here’s the key: It may be someone that will be a surprise! And as for the Voter Registration, I want to participate in the Voting drives just to spread the word around for those who haven’t registered – get registered! If you are 18 and over, and a U.S. Citizen, please register. I don’t care, if you don’t like politics, nor the candidates who will be invading our TV sets, Cable/Satellites, or YouTube websites this year, by the time when the Main Event gets here, hopefully you will be able to cast your ballot for your vote. Sorry, this is an American thing, Internationals don’t qualify!

2008 must be the year for turning unemployment to employment. I’m going to pick on those who sling out the job descriptions every day, and those who are just doing nothing. To the employers, I know that you are looking for Good People. And I know that you are looking for those who can come onto your level and work the same with you. And I know that reliability, experience,  and commitment to your companies are a plus. But here’s a question that must be asked: "What are you really looking for?" Do you accept college grads coming out to work for you? or Do you want those who have the tools? or Do you have the time to go into the neighborhoods or the town centers to talk to those who have experience or not? Take Milwaukee for example. In 2007 the city of Milwaukee was ranked number 2 in unemployment, as to be the highest in the nation under Detroit. That was scary! Unaccpectable. If you post this message on MySpace, Facebook or in your own blogs, keep this question going. And give credit to me. No Plagiarisms! And to those who are sitting around the house and not doing a freaking thing: Partially, this  is your fault. You seem to be waiting for a handout and expect things to come. Have you heard of pulling up your diaper, or lace your boots? I’m sure. I don’t care if you are white, Latino, European, Asian or yes, Black! – Black people who don’t work, you need to heed this: Get out of the house, and find a job!  I don’t care if its on a bus line. We all remember the line "making it" right?  And since were on that subject, I see this mostly in Milwaukee that needs to be addressed seriously! I work at my church as a janitor 20 hours a week, but I’m still in the hunt for something big. I haven’t lost hope since 2006.

In 2008, I will be at the movies again: First Sunday, Rambo, Batman, Iron Man – just a few movies I think I will check out. And far as entertainment yes, I will revisit Summerfest and African World Festival this year to soak in summer fun. Plus, I want to see fireworks on the lake front near Lake Shore Park.

Furthermore, that’s just about it – for part one.

Leave a Reply

