Overcoming Pyro Phobias

Posted: June 26, 2007 in Life

All of our lives, we had or have phobias. They are our fears, barriers and weaknesses. Remember epidsodes of The Simpsons when Marge was afraid to fly, and then she found out that the reason for the fear,because her father was a stewardess! Also when Homer was screaming in a cave because he found a skull of what used to be Waylon Smithers’ father? That was overcame also, I think. What about Bruce Wayne and afraid of bats and falling? That too, was conquered. And when Amen was on TV, Deacon Frye’s fear of snakes gone!

Now I want talk about my past phobia. Around the 4th of July, I used to be scared of fireworks. I kid not! Yes, I was a afraid. I was a afraid of the sound, the look and the cannons. This was my fear. This was my curse for a while. It kind of joked my family for a couple of years and it didn’t set well with me. I stayed away from displays for a couple of years. And during the couple of years, I watched the displays on TV which kind of helped me. It helped me in sense of getting over that barrier. Then things started to change……..

Around 1989-1990ish, I remember going outside of my grandfather’s house with my younger cousins and I watched a fireworks display. And I just realized that my fear of pyrotechnics was cured. It was past me. All of those fear years just went away with confidence. Now I can catch up and go to a display at a park, just to enjoy it.

So, what have we learned here? I think the moral lesson is to accept the fact you have or had a fear. And folks probably joked at you because of what ever. You know in this day of age of things go whatever, it is not a joke like cancer striking your family. Or when a killing occurs in your family or being black of not getting the job and suffer discrimination, Nepritisms, and also everyone’s common blog, the problems in the U.S. Government, or Milwaukee’s checkered past of segregation. And Wisconsin’s problems of taxes and not welcoming jobs into the state. If Milwaukee can accept Office Depot at the Midtown Center, why can’t we accept Google or Honda? Not everyone is not going to work at Harley!

But getting back to fireworks, take a lesson from me. It’s OK to be afraid. But also it is start of working to find a cure for your phobia. Rocky Balboa once said: "The world ain’t all sunshine and rainbows. It is a very mean and nasty place It will beat you to your knees and keep you there permanently if you let it. You, me or nobody is going to hit as hard as life. But it ain’t about how hard you hit, it is about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward, how much can you take and keep moving forward. That’s how winning is done!"

Leave a Reply

