St. Valentine’s Day TV /Movie and Music Memories

Posted: February 14, 2006 in Reflections

 
St. Valentine’s Day TV /Movie and Music Memories
 
 
Now since "the evil of all holidays" is about over, (Al Bundy joke!) I have not mentioned about my best Valentines Day TV Epidsodes. Like Halloween, I still try to kick back and relax and the shows that featured love, breakups, makeups, romance and overall, funny. So, here it goes:
 
Family Matters: I would believe when Urkel turns into Stefan. I think there were at least 4 shows. Plus, I cannot forget Myrtle going after Eddie. Plus Urkel presented a trifecta of shows in which to present 1st Love, True Love, and Lasting Love. Plus Myra sung a song at the end. (God rest her soul)
 
Fresh Prince: Will and Ashley on a double date. Plus Ashley stood up to her father for respect.
 
Married…With Children: This is so easy! The first valentine’s show featured Peggy telling Al "I Love You" and Al, "Yeah,Yeah,Yeah". In the end, Al does say the L word, but Peg tricked him. Another was when Jefferson bought Marcy a Valentine’s Gift near the end, but in between Al was trying to find Peg a gift (bean sprouts) and Bud was trying to reconnect with his long lost girlfriend back in the day.
 
Living Single: Got to review my videotapes. Something to do with Klye singing "My Funny Valentine" infront of Maxine.
 
Martin: Another easy one! The first Valentine’s day show was a three part epidsode in which Martin and Gina broke up. They went on separate dates that featured actors Lark Voorhies, David Alan Grier, and Christopher B. Duncan. In the end of the three parts, Martin and Gina got back together and apologized. Another was when Martin, Pam, Tommy and Cole went on a cruise. A woman (played by Nicole Ari Paker I think,) gets attracted to Tommy in an attempt to make her husband jealous. Martin was stalked by Ellen (Lynn Whitfield) a couple of times in which Martin revealed she was "a fine looking sista." Pam and Cole had the weirdest experience of being together for a while and almost married.
 
The Simpsons: This epidsode had Lisa giving Ralph a valentine (in which no one else did!). They went on a date and Lisa revealed that she didnot like him. But Ralph got his props in which he played General Washington in a Presidents Day show.
 
WWE: Back in 1999, the WWE had a In Your House titled "St. Valentine’s Day Massacre". The featured bout was Mr. McMahon vs Stone Cold Steve Austin in a Steel Cage Match. The winner was Austin obviously. Also the PPV marked the debut of the Big Show as well. More recently this year, the WWE unveiled Val Venis’ footage of the Valentine’s Day Suckatular segments in which highlighted the best and worst love storylines in WWE history.
 
Movies have definitely played roles in Valentine’s History. But for me, here is my top 10 love joints that I watch anyday:
 
1) The Princess Bride
2) Hitch
3) So, I Married An Axe Murderer
4) Brown Sugar
5) BET’s Book Of Love
6) Boat Trip
7) Mr. and Mrs. Smith
8) What’s love got to do with it?
9) Wedding Crashers
10) Guess Who?
 
Music: Need I say more?
 
1) LL Cool J – I need love
2) Karyn White – Romantic, Superwoman, Secret Rendevous, Weakness
3) Positive K – I got a man
4) Janet Jackson – Throb, If, Exbition (or Sexbition if explicit), Let’s Wait a While, Alright
5) Will Smith – I’m looking for the one to be with me; I wanna rock
6) Heavy D – Now That  We Found Love
7) Mary J. Blige – Real Love
8) Jade – I wanna love down
9) Pebbles – Love Makes Things Happen
10) Aaliyah – Rock The Boat; Are You Feelin’ Me?; Hot Like Fire
11) Jody Watley – Real Love; Looking for a new love; Don’t you want Me; Some kind of lover; I’m the one you need
12) Michael Jackson – Butterflies, The Girl Is Mine; Say Say Say; Give in to me; Get on the floor
13) Prince – Gett Off; Little Red Corvette; Purple Rain
14) Zhane’ – Sending My Love
15) Blondie – Rapture
16) Rob Base & DJ E-Z Rock – It Takes Two
17) SWV – Downtown, I’m So Into You; You’re The One For Me; Someone
18) Alicia Keys – Heartburn, Fallin’; You Don’t Know My Name
19) Diana Ross- I’m Comin Out; Upside Down
20) Jamie Foxx – Unpredictable
21) Toni, Tony Tone – It never rains in Southern California; Anniversary; Let’s Get Down
22) Soul For Real- Everything Little Thing I Do
23) Mariah Carey – Heartbreaker; Shake it off; It’s Like That; We Belong Together
24) Brownstone – Grapevyne
25) 50 Cent – Candy Shop
26) Lenny Kravitz – Let Love Rule; Dig In; Battlefield of Love; Stillness of Heart
27) Zapp-More Bounce To the Ounce; Computer Love
28) Jodeci – Come and talk to me; Get on up; Freek-N-You
29) Xscape – Just Kickin’ It
30) TLC – Creep; Red Light District;
31) Destiny’s Child – Lose My Breath; Soilder
32) Faith Evans – You used to love me; love like this; Again
33) Beyonce – Crazy In Love
34) Ying Yang Twins – Salt Shaker
35) Wreckx – N – Effect – Rump Shaker
36) Luke – I wanna rock
37) 69 Boyz – Tootsie Roll
38) Chaka Khan – I feel for you
39) Teena Marie – I’m Still In Love; Behind the Groove; I’m a Sucker for your love; Honey Call; Off The Chain;
40) Rick James – Superfreak; Fire and Desire; Moon Child; Standing on the top; Coldblooded
41) Shai – The place where we belong; If I ever fall in love (again)
 
There’s so many to choose from, but I like them all.
 
 
Leave a Reply

