Yes, I kind of missed some stories. Being in this blogging thing, you are on your best story, or things could be sidetracked with work, activities and/or other stories with the news cycle swirling.

First Take: LL Cool J and the Accidential Racist song. Yeah, I read about it. LL Cool J got into some hot water about Accidential Racist song with Brad Paisley. And like everyone else, I didn’t expect that. Not one bit. I think one of the reasons what set most folks off was the lyrics that kind of got folks off base.

Brad Paisley lyrics:

‘To the man that waited on me at the Starbucks down on Main, I hope you understand
When I put on that t-shirt, the only thing I meant to say is I’m a Skynyrd fan
The red flag on my chest somehow is like the elephant in the corner of the south
And I just walked him right in the room
Just a proud rebel son with an ‘ol can of worms
Lookin’ like I got a lot to learn but from my point of view

And on the flip side, here is a sample from LL Cool J’s lyrics:

Dear Mr. White Man, I wish you understood
What the world is really like when you’re living in the hood
Just because my pants are saggin’ doesn’t mean I’m up to no good
You should try to get to know me, I really wish you would
Now my chains are gold, but I’m still misunderstood
I wasn’t there when Sherman’s March turned the south into firewood
I want you to get paid, but be a slave I never could
Feel like a new-fangled Django dogging invisible white hoods
So when I see that white cowboy hat, I’m thinking it’s not all good
I guess we’re both guilty of judging the cover, not the book
I’d love to buy you a beer, conversate and clear the air
But I see that red flag and I think you wish I wasn’t here

Now I want to know is, what was so surprising about this? Ok. with all due to respect to LL Cool J, maybe this song could be a way of healing for some per say, but I have to agree in his words, and he said this, It’s not a perfect song. And in my view: very strange. Many of us were like, why would LL who had hits like Mama Said Knock You Out, or Rock the Bells would write and rap lyrics like this? And I’m hearing that he’s a sell out just because he rap to this? That’s more like a crack of bull of M.C. Hammer putting on Taco Bell Commercials and folks think that was selling out. But you know what is strange about that, rappers are doing commercials now. You even hear “No Church In The Wild” in a certain commercials. And still, Jay-Z, Frank Ocean, and Kanye still getting paid. But getting back to this “Accidental Racist” help me out. What is an Accidental Racist? A racist that commits accidents? No really, I want to know. Many times before, I’ve been hearing about the proverbial “I have a lot of Black friends” speech for defense. I also read about folks of my color who have got turned down for jobs, housing, loans the most because of black skin. Even getting pulled over by the police in a expensive car like a BMW. Plus the BMW in a slang term is Black Men Wanted. Technically, those who use this is not a safety net. I don’t hear my voice saying that, I have a lot of white friends. Or Hispanic, Indian, Native American, or those are apart of the LGBT folks Friends. If I had actually said that, or any of those,  I think that would be a cop out. Just saying. Now words like Accidental Racist to me is not an accident.  Lot of us are and still asking what is up with the race card thing? Well let me tell you what I have learned in church: Racism has been around for along time. It’s been around since the first man, the first civilization, and has in different forms. Even reverse racism. But STILL even in the 21st Century most have leveraged it like a badge. That to me is NO accident. After all of this smokescreen, many of us will still listen to LL Cool J. I mean he does have another album coming out this year. And yes, he’s going to be in concert and folks will still spend their money! Like here in Milwaukee, I talked about Elsa’s on the Park in which the owner’s girlfriend was white that called out some African-Americans who don’t tip, vote, etc. They walked out. And mostly the cooks in the restaurant, who were black, walked out also. Oh yes the owner did apologize. Was that an act of “Accidental Racist?” Or what about my story about how I was discriminated because of a job offer in Waukesha, Wisconsin. Was Dresser Engine an Accidental Racist? I believe so. And what about companies who don’t hire based on Criminal Record or get this: Credit Reports! Is that being a Accidental Racist? Plus also remember when I wrote about the High Speed Rail and the rail money was given away with Scott Walker’s blood on it. Plus also, according to Milwaukee Black Radio of WNOV, part of another reason it was debunked due to race. I ask, is that an example of “Accidental Racist?” I’m just saying. I don’t really hear alot of the other folks in a progressive/conservative news outlets addressing this concerning African-Americans. Here in Milwaukee,  you will hear this on some liberal platforms, and mostly Black Radio. But conservative: NOT A CHANCE!

The Second Take: Lauryn Hill. Why will not she pay for her fair share? Previously, Wesley Snipes was released from jail after serving 3 years in jail all because he was tax evading. Earlier, Ronald Isley of the Isley Brothers was in Jail for 3 years of the same time frame. I mean really. Look, I like Lauryn Hill. She was a phenomenal artist. Nothing to take away from her success with The Fugees and Doo Wop That Thing. But still, pay the fair share. Now word is, she owes about $500,000 to the Government in a matter of days. Dang. I know that the country needs cash to maintain the economy for jobs, and more. BUT STILL,  JUST PAY THE TAXES! The more you have hold outs in which is a law thing, it could backfire. And no, it’s not a conspiracy thing. If those can pay bills of other kind, why not taxes? And I think that has been part of the reason why so many folks are going to the unemployment lines, or in this case trying to get the economy in working order.

Now the third and final take: Rick Ross. And the rape lyrics that got him away from Reebok. Remember the lyrics? Time to review:

In the song “U.O.E.N.O,” Ross raps: “Put molly all in her champagne, she ain’t even know it. I took her home and I enjoyed that, she ain’t even know it.”

For the record, a Molly is referred to as a drug. Almost like the 2010’s version of the date rape drug, or estacy. When Reebok heard about this, they had to pull the plug. And even Rick Ross was condoned for the lyrics. But in his defense, Rick Ross really doesn’t endorse Rape. So the question is, why would Rick Ross used Molly and Rape in a rap lyric, and does not condone it? That is a hard question. We know that Rape is a crime. No matter what anyone thinks. When you use it in a sense of extortion or violence, and if it’s serious, then it’s a extreme concern. Just like taking money from a person who has worked hard for it. I don’t blame the folks who protested against Rick Ross for it because they felt that it was wrong. Now don’t get wrong, Rick Ross is better endorsed for other companies that don’t have to worry about the lyrics. But for Reebok, that’s a hard sell to touch. Matter of fact, probably it was all about the cash. Take away that and Reebok saves some money.

So yeah, this is my take on certain things I have to touch on. Literally.

Leave a Reply

