I’m sure many of us who are paying attention recently with a new reality show coming out. But before I preface the blog as usual, let me say, I’m not a fan of reality shows. Never have been. The show is coming out called “All My Babies Mamas” in which the Rapper Shawty Lo will be featuring his 11 Children and 10 (yes that’s right) 10 Mothers in this show that has folks, specifically Black Women up in arms. No I’m speaking as a Black Man on this: WHY? No, I’m serious. WHY would Oxygen, and those who rallied behind this, would allow this to air? It really has volumed to a point for some that “oh, let’s see what  our audience thinks” type thing. Many believe that the Real Housewives Series is bad. But this show, I don’t know. I guess after seeing the previous via the internet per say, many would not be watching.

Now I read on another blog or story somewhere that this might get the ideas of “what are African-Americans like” in a sense in person. Word is there might be folks from other countries who might get the major wrong impression of African-Americans in terms of  what is being displayed on TV, movies, and mainly other forms of media stuff. What would happen if I were to visit the international countries in which they might get the wrong impression of African Americans? And they see this show? I remember what I was told and taught growing up in the country. Now this may surprise some folks outside of the U.S. but I’ll say it here:

Call out: Those who view African-Americans as a whole just because it’s on videos, movies, and TV, and I dare say the internet: STOP!

Don’t assume that EVERY African-American in the country is like Shawty Lo or get assumptions like NeNe Leakes. Basically the generalization of African-Americans overall is nothing new. It’s like looking at a TV show in which black folks are on it, and if a situation comes up that “oh,is this is how black folks in America are like?” then the whole generalization is false. Not every African-American that I know doesn’t sit on their rear ends and be lazy, some of us work! Some of us raise our families, go to church, say yes maam and yes sir, greet eat other in a respectful way, and many other positive stuff in which most would find shocking, but reasonable. And learning about our family histories through stories, reunions, and pictures. Plus voting. (At least I do)

I want the International Audience to understand this, and I know alot of you are on my blogs reading about what’s up in America. Yes, we do have problems, but some of us are willing to solve them. Like racism, and trying to enhance our Black Historical sides, while being American. Some of us African-Americans have been ashamed of our race, (the N-Word is an example in a twist, degrading the females, no respect for those who have paved the way like Civil Rights) or asking why (and whine) why does Black History Month has to be one month in February and don’t teach that much in our schools everyday. And skipping it out like third period french of it being propaganda. Which is not. (No offense to the French)  Or when we see our Declaration of Independence about the part of being created equal, some of that we know it’s a lie in a sense. Look at the reasons why. Per say. There are those of us who do get along with others, and have some similarities in terms of families, schools, and interests. So yes we got problems and solutions to work out.

In my reaction comment to the show that might be coming up, this is another reason why I stay and continue to be SINGLE! Mainly, it’s about maturity. My mother once said that if you’re not mature enough to get married, don’t walk the aisle. I can be mature in other ways. This is not my way saying, “I hate marriage”. I’m not saying that. What I am saying, is I don’t chose to enter that path in which those have messed up. However, I do applaud those who are walking the path and doing it well while having that hard assignment.  And I’m saying this as a Single African-American Male! Yeah, I’m still single in 2013, and I’m fine.

Practically, the image of African-American representation of who we are, is still in progress. Even after 150 years of the Emancipation Proclaimaiton and after 236 years of the Declaration of Independence.

Leave a Reply

