I thought we learned our lesson about black hair this year. Just recently while most of us are celebrating the 12/12/12 day, I read a report out of Louisiana about a black meteorologist was fired all because of her black hair. The person, Rhonda Lee became the latest to be on the list of those being hated on because of the black hair issue. The previous? Reference Gabby Douglass in the Olympics. And how did that mess got started of her hair, reference some young black women on Twitter feeling “sorry for her”. Oh Seriously! This is my rant. Since when did black hair get to be heated this year, or any point in the argument? This my take on this. So a white guy in Louisiana goes on Facebook acknowledge Rhonda’s work and looks of a professional, but stated he doesn’t like her hair. Oh there they go. You go on Facebook and rant about someone that is well known and pathetically gets spotted all because of the hairpiece. By standards her hair wasn’t that bad at all. If the hair was a problem,why did the man had to open his big mouth virtually? Also there were misspellings in his response. Oooooh, Education!  That’s right I said it! Plus the guy stated that’s he’s not a racist. Really. Click to see larger image Anyway, like the old school used to say, if you can’t say nothing nice, don’t say nothing. Remember that Obama-haters? What was the former newscasters response: It reads in parts via Facebook:  “Hello Emmitt–I am the ‘black lady’ to which you are referring. I’m sorry you don’t like my ethnic hair. And no I don’t have cancer.” Lee continues the post writing, “I am very proud of my African-American ancestry which includes my hair…Women come in all shapes, sizes, nationalities, and levels of beauty. Showing little girls that being comfortable in the skin and HAIR God gave me is my contribution to society.” Well that response was very well stated. Even for her part of being proud of her African-American ancestry. How many African-Americans in general can say being proud of the Ancestry? That’s the first time I’ve read this. Now I’ve heard being black and proud. Nothing wrong with that. But saying the statement of being proud of African-American Ancestry, mad props. Thank you! But in essence, the statement costed her job, and the news station needs to be held accountable. Yes. Rhonda Lee made the list of those who got snickered for black hair. Sad. Just recently this year in my home state, a news caster was called out because of her weight. This was not in Milwaukee. It was in Lacrosse. And the newscaster, Jennifer Livingston responded and kept her job. But for Rhonda, she got fired.

Leave a Reply

